Jump to content


Photo

Question about Orion SVP

  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 moynihan

moynihan

    Vanguard

  • -----
  • Posts: 2315
  • Joined: 22 Jul 2003
  • Loc: Lake Michigan Watershed

Posted 10 October 2012 - 06:46 AM

Is the orion SVP more similar to the cg4 or cg5, load capacity - wise?

#2 rmollise

rmollise

    Hubble

  • *****
  • Posts: 15778
  • Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Posted 10 October 2012 - 06:51 AM

CG5, but with the not-as-good SynScan software/HC.

#3 gustavo_sanchez

gustavo_sanchez

    Messenger

  • *****
  • Posts: 458
  • Joined: 30 Dec 2010
  • Loc: Puerto Rico, US

Posted 10 October 2012 - 09:31 AM

It is similar to a CG-5, but with the CG-4 tripod.

#4 waso29

waso29

    Messenger

  • *****
  • Posts: 498
  • Joined: 12 May 2010
  • Loc: Chi-Town, USA, mother earth

Posted 10 October 2012 - 10:50 AM

And you have option of adding Orion's intelliscope to make it a great push-to mount with tracking.
I can manually move mount with fine adjustment knobs at my pace and the encoders keep track where I'm located.
I lock the clutches and it continues tracking.
It is my grab-n-go mount.

#5 moynihan

moynihan

    Vanguard

  • -----
  • Posts: 2315
  • Joined: 22 Jul 2003
  • Loc: Lake Michigan Watershed

Posted 11 October 2012 - 06:18 AM

Thanks :grin:






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics