Jump to content


Photo

Need a measurement from a Mach 1, and an Atlas.

  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Wmacky

Wmacky

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1933
  • Joined: 24 Nov 2007
  • Loc: Florida

Posted 10 October 2012 - 02:28 PM

I'm having a Pier built for my classic CGE, but would like to keep my options open. Could any kind souls grab me a measurement from these mounts? I need a distance measurement from the bottom of the mount (where it would connect to an adapter mounted to the top plate of my custom pier), to the top side of the dovetail clamp at a spot directly over the center of the mount (this should be the "middle" of the clamp from front to back, and side to side)?

Basically imagine a line running through the center of these mounts from top to bottom.

I ask because the CGE has a mini "electronics pier" that attaches to the bottom of the mount, and would seem to set it up higher than the Mach 1, and Atlas mounts?

#2 Starhawk

Starhawk

    Space Ranger

  • *****
  • Posts: 5601
  • Joined: 16 Sep 2008
  • Loc: Tucson, Arizona

Posted 10 October 2012 - 02:43 PM

There is no equivalent on a Mach 1 GTO. however, I have a suggestion:

If you make your permanent pier a little short, then you can accept new mounts of different designs by putting a spool-shaped piece between the mount and the pier, proper, to cause them to end up at the right height.

The electronics pier would fit in that spot for the CGE. You can even make these sections agree with other features of other mounts. So, for example, making interfaces where the little tray brackets used on an AP Eagle pier could fit.

-Rich

#3 Wmacky

Wmacky

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1933
  • Joined: 24 Nov 2007
  • Loc: Florida

Posted 10 October 2012 - 04:01 PM

There is no equivalent on a Mach 1 GTO. however, I have a suggestion:

If you make your permanent pier a little short, then you can accept new mounts of different designs by putting a spool-shaped piece between the mount and the pier, proper, to cause them to end up at the right height.

The electronics pier would fit in that spot for the CGE. You can even make these sections agree with other features of other mounts. So, for example, making interfaces where the little tray brackets used on an AP Eagle pier could fit.

-Rich


I had thought about a spool piece, but as my cost is almost all welding labor, and end plates, that spool piece would end up costing the exact same as and entire pier!. If I could just get those measurements, I thought I might be able to go a little high with the pier if the difference is small.

#4 Starhawk

Starhawk

    Space Ranger

  • *****
  • Posts: 5601
  • Joined: 16 Sep 2008
  • Loc: Tucson, Arizona

Posted 10 October 2012 - 04:16 PM

It's going to be about 8-10" between the three mounts you've mentioned.

-Rich

#5 Wmacky

Wmacky

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1933
  • Joined: 24 Nov 2007
  • Loc: Florida

Posted 10 October 2012 - 06:29 PM

It's going to be about 8-10" between the three mounts you've mentioned.

-Rich


I'm not sure I understand? I just measured my CGE, and it's roughly 21".

#6 gillmj24

gillmj24

    Aurora

  • *****
  • Posts: 4917
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2005
  • Loc: PA

Posted 11 October 2012 - 10:41 AM

I will take pictures side by side tonight/this weekend if you still need

#7 Wmacky

Wmacky

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1933
  • Joined: 24 Nov 2007
  • Loc: Florida

Posted 11 October 2012 - 11:50 AM

That would be great. Are you able to pull a measurement?

#8 gillmj24

gillmj24

    Aurora

  • *****
  • Posts: 4917
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2005
  • Loc: PA

Posted 11 October 2012 - 06:56 PM

I might have misread, I thought you wanted to see a cge vs the mach1 but your thread title says Atlas vs mach1
anyway here is the CGE. The first 7" is taken up by the electronics pier and it looks like 22" from the tripod top to the declination clamp near the saddle.

Attached Files



#9 gillmj24

gillmj24

    Aurora

  • *****
  • Posts: 4917
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2005
  • Loc: PA

Posted 11 October 2012 - 06:58 PM

And here is the Mach 1. This measurement might be off a half inch. I was holding the tape measure with one hand and my camera phone with the other.

I have the eagle extension but I measured from the base of the mount, not from the eagle extension top.

Attached Files



#10 Wmacky

Wmacky

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1933
  • Joined: 24 Nov 2007
  • Loc: Florida

Posted 11 October 2012 - 07:10 PM

Yes I have a CGE, and wanted this spec for the Mach, and the Atlas. Looks like just a 4" difference between the Mach, and CGE. That's not to bad. I could make the pier work for both of those mounts. Thanks for doing that for me!

Anyone got a Atlas? They must be kinda rare I guess..........

#11 gillmj24

gillmj24

    Aurora

  • *****
  • Posts: 4917
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2005
  • Loc: PA

Posted 11 October 2012 - 07:20 PM

I don't have the Atlas anymore. I can tell you it is closer to CGEM than CGE.






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics