Jump to content


Photo

Stacking very large files

  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 luigis

luigis

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 240
  • Joined: 27 Jul 2010
  • Loc: Buenos Aires, Argentina

Posted 10 October 2012 - 03:51 PM

Hi!

Let's say I have 100-500 frames taken with a DSLR in photo mode, each frame is then 18mpx. I would like to select the best N frames from the stack to fight turbulence. Is there a way to do that automatically?

Stacking programs such as Autostakker or Registax seem to halt when processing very large files... Maybe there's some other program or a trick to do it. I would like to be able to sort the frames and use the better ones for processing.

Thanks for your help!
Luigi

#2 MvZ

MvZ

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1581
  • Joined: 03 Apr 2007
  • Loc: The Netherlands

Posted 10 October 2012 - 06:14 PM

"Autostakker or Registax seem to halt"

Could you be a bit more specific here? If you can replicate the problem for me, and supply me with some of the materials (one or two frames should be fine, the rest I'll simply copy) I can try to fix it.

#3 luigis

luigis

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 240
  • Joined: 27 Jul 2010
  • Loc: Buenos Aires, Argentina

Posted 11 October 2012 - 10:01 AM

Thank you for your very kind help Emil, I sent you a PM with the files.

#4 MvZ

MvZ

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1581
  • Joined: 03 Apr 2007
  • Loc: The Netherlands

Posted 11 October 2012 - 06:58 PM

Wow.. those are HUGE files, I didn't quite realize that (16-bit, 140MB each)

This is not going to be some trivial change in AS!2 I think, but I'll try to have a proper look and see if I can come up with something.

A quick question already. When I open the files in Photoshop, you can see some bands of information are missing on the left and right side of the image. Why is that? Is this perhaps not the source material, but already a mosaic of some sort?

#5 Neocisco

Neocisco

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: 05 Aug 2008
  • Loc: Villa General Belgrano, Cordoba, Argentina

Posted 20 October 2012 - 03:58 PM

Luis, I had the same trouble but found a way to do it. First, convert all the RAW files to TIFFs with Canon DPP. Then just use Registax v5 and that's all. It seems v5 can handle big images without problems. I have even once stacked 70 12MP images with it without problems. That's how I stacked my solar and lunar images taken with my Canon 450d. You can watch some examples on my FB page.
Abrazo!

#6 luigis

luigis

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 240
  • Joined: 27 Jul 2010
  • Loc: Buenos Aires, Argentina

Posted 23 October 2012 - 12:36 PM

Ty Francisco.

I tried R5 but it runs "out of memory" and R6 just crashes. Autostakkert goes as far as analysing the images but crashes while stacking.

So far no luck

#7 ToxMan

ToxMan

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Posts: 2779
  • Joined: 23 Jan 2011
  • Loc: Tucson, Arizona, USA

Posted 23 October 2012 - 12:55 PM

I tried R5 but it runs "out of memory"

It sounds like you need more RAM.

#8 luigis

luigis

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 240
  • Joined: 27 Jul 2010
  • Loc: Buenos Aires, Argentina

Posted 23 October 2012 - 03:50 PM

I have 8gb do I need more?

#9 ToxMan

ToxMan

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Posts: 2779
  • Joined: 23 Jan 2011
  • Loc: Tucson, Arizona, USA

Posted 23 October 2012 - 07:18 PM

No Luis, 8Gb is plenty. I was taking a stab at what the problem might be. And, it is not this. Have you tried re-installing stacking software? Also, make sure that you have latest version and updates. Thanks.

Paul

#10 luigis

luigis

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 240
  • Joined: 27 Jul 2010
  • Loc: Buenos Aires, Argentina

Posted 24 October 2012 - 08:58 AM

Yes, I tried. But it seems no planetary program is designed to handle really large files. I wouldn't mind the time needed to stack as long as the application doesn't crash.

What I'm doing now is resizing everything to 640x480, running Autostakkert to select the best frames, then manually deleting the bad frames from the large files. Aligning with PtGUI pro and finally stacking with Photoshop.
It's a long process and I was hoping for a trick or setting to do it directly with Autostakkert or Registax.

#11 NeilMac

NeilMac

    Gemini

  • -----
  • Posts: 3296
  • Joined: 25 Sep 2010
  • Loc: MedHat, AB, Canada

Posted 24 October 2012 - 04:01 PM

U might want to look at your "Task Manager" and see if anything heavy is running and stop whatever programs that are not system relevant.

#12 luigis

luigis

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 240
  • Joined: 27 Jul 2010
  • Loc: Buenos Aires, Argentina

Posted 26 October 2012 - 12:47 AM

Nothing is running, the programs can't just handle so many huge files. I have faith in Autostakkert2! if Emil can pull out some magic tricks. Registax6 will always fail I think.

#13 MvZ

MvZ

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1581
  • Joined: 03 Apr 2007
  • Loc: The Netherlands

Posted 26 October 2012 - 08:30 AM

I haven't had time to properly look at the problem, mainly because debugging these huge files is a real PITA.

I think I indeed may need some magic tricks.

Have you tried AviStack 2 by the way?? Perhaps that'll work for you.






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics