5 replies to this topic

#1 sideshowkevin

sideshowkevin

Explorer 1

• -----
  • Loc: Pittsburgh, PA

Posted 23 October 2012 - 07:16 AM

Greetings sketchy people!

My last couple of observing sessions, I have carried an observation form, some pencils and pens, and an eraser out with me, thinking that I would take a stab at my first stellar sketches. But I haven't found a target that wasn't overwhelmingly daunting to me yet, so I figured I would get your advice about some of the easier targets that would help me build skills.

I have read through a lot of the archived threads stickied here (btw, a lot of the links are dead), and I have a pretty good feel for the processes and techniques (get some brighter guide stars on paper first, work in quadrants, etc.) I should employ.

I have to say that I have little inherent "artistic aptitude" in me. I think I can compensate with my spatial relation skills - I have some experience with drafting. Another roadblock is that I have a Dob, and so I have to sketch and manually track. And it is definitely hard to re-center the same FOV. However, whenever I get frustrated I just remember that the original sketchers didn't have tracking either!

So, having said all that, I am hoping that the more experienced here could provide some stellar targets, with recommended EPs if possible, that I could attempt to sketch whenever the weather gets better here (EP recommendations are welcome because I can't figure out if I should start with low, medium, or high power sketches). I am looking for low hanging fruit at this point - something that would provide some initial confidence while also providing just a little challenge, and ultimately teaching me important sketching skills. Thanks in advance for your recommendations!

#2 Asbytec

Asbytec

Guy in a furry hat

• Loc: La Union, PI

Posted 23 October 2012 - 07:41 AM

Well, try eta Cassiopeia. It's a colorful double with a interesting star field.

https://bestdoubles....ten-components/