Jump to content


Photo

AZ EQ6 in the US?

  • Please log in to reply
209 replies to this topic

#101 andysea

andysea

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1498
  • Joined: 03 Sep 2010
  • Loc: Seattle, WA

Posted 11 December 2012 - 11:18 PM

Someone else pointed out the same differences especially the apparently better design of the Skywatcher power jack. My AP mount has a similar connector and It definitely a makes for a very secure power connection.

Andy

#102 Mike X.

Mike X.

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 808
  • Joined: 28 Jun 2010
  • Loc: Greece-Athens and Rome-Italy

Posted 11 December 2012 - 11:53 PM

It's weird when i saw the mount in Italy at the presentation the connector on the AZEQ6GT was just like the classic NEQ6...I guess there are models with different connectors for different places in the world...could it be?

#103 johnpd

johnpd

    Messenger

  • -----
  • Posts: 443
  • Joined: 12 Apr 2008

Posted 12 December 2012 - 02:06 AM

The Orion Atlas and The Skywatcher are different..
There is no gps and camera control in the Orion unit.


The Skywatcher does not have GPS either. It is an additional module you have to purchase.

JohnD

#104 mega256

mega256

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 925
  • Joined: 10 May 2007
  • Loc: N of Tampa

Posted 12 December 2012 - 03:49 AM

Thanks,I thought that I read that it did have a buit in gps...

post #5525798

#105 johnpd

johnpd

    Messenger

  • -----
  • Posts: 443
  • Joined: 12 Apr 2008

Posted 12 December 2012 - 04:00 AM

Well I am confused. On further checking it appears that a number of Canadian dealers are including the GPS module. I see nothing in Europe indicating that the GPS is included.

JohnD

#106 Jack Huerkamp

Jack Huerkamp

    Vendor - Waning Moon

  • -----
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 1047
  • Joined: 13 Oct 2005
  • Loc: Louisiana

Posted 12 December 2012 - 09:33 AM

From Brian at KWTelescopes:

"We have had a few calls for the new mount- only 14 were brought into Canada and we took 6 of them- probably would have taken all had we any info on the mount or seen one before hand. All come with GPS."

So whether or not you get a GPS module depends on who you buy your AZ-EQ6 from.

Jack Huerkamp

#107 neilson

neilson

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 538
  • Joined: 22 Aug 2010

Posted 12 December 2012 - 12:26 PM

Hi Jack,
Is sounds like it would be a good ideal to ask when you place your order to make sure your getting GPS.
I think all mounts should come with built in GPS, its 2012, not 1980.
I wouldn't be surprised if models sold in the U.S. did not include GPS so they could sell an add on unit and make an extra $120.+ like mounts sold by other telescope manufacturers here.
Hopefully that wont be the case, this is a really modern mount and I haven't seen any short cuts in the way it was built. Although I think a bigger tripod would have been nice.

neilson

#108 astro_baby

astro_baby

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 998
  • Joined: 17 Jun 2008
  • Loc: United Kingdom

Posted 12 December 2012 - 02:23 PM

Skywatcher just announced version 3.23 software and reccomend the Alt Az RQ6 is upgraded with it. Also themanual for the new software is out and downloadable and much better than the old one....read it today in my lunch hour.

The manual for the mount is also much better than previous Skywatcher manuals.

#109 stevetaylor199

stevetaylor199

    Ranger 4

  • *****
  • Posts: 369
  • Joined: 21 Sep 2011
  • Loc: SE Wisconsin

Posted 12 December 2012 - 02:35 PM

Thanks for bringing me up to speed on the features, gents. It's worth noting that I did later find a photo of the AZ EQ-6 at a European vendor which also did not show the screw-retaining feature on the power jack, nor a SNAP jack, nor an LED. With that and the GPS considerations in mind, it will probably be wise to ask one's retailer those questions at this point.

Dumb question:... I did look at the Skywatcher manual for the AZ EQ6, and my impression was that it seemed a bit lacking; I ended up coming away with this dumb question: this mount *does* offer GoTo and tracking in AltAz mode for visual applications, right? Right??

Edit: nevermind -- I realized that astro baby is referring to the manual associated with the firmware update (here), not the manual for the AZ EQ6 mount itself that I was reviewing last night. Now I see how the mount is aligned in the EQ mode, which was the information missing from the mount manual which had piqued my question.

#110 Jack Huerkamp

Jack Huerkamp

    Vendor - Waning Moon

  • -----
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 1047
  • Joined: 13 Oct 2005
  • Loc: Louisiana

Posted 12 December 2012 - 03:07 PM

I will check the firmware version on my AZ-EQ6 when I get home tonight, but I think it is current. When I first started the mount last night it asked me to confirm if I was in EQ or Alt-Az mode, which is exactly what the SynScan Instruction Manual for the current software version says should happen.

My SkyFi cable for the mount should have arrived in today's mail, so I will try to set the mount up in A/A mode and see if I can control it with my iPAD and make sure it is tracking after going to a target.

This weekend I will try to duplicate this with real stars outside.

Jack

#111 DuiA1

DuiA1

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 122
  • Joined: 07 May 2012
  • Loc: Ontario, Canada

Posted 12 December 2012 - 05:22 PM

Thanks Jack. Really want to make sure it works with SkyFi . I absolutely love it and use it with all my scopes.

#112 Jack Huerkamp

Jack Huerkamp

    Vendor - Waning Moon

  • -----
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 1047
  • Joined: 13 Oct 2005
  • Loc: Louisiana

Posted 12 December 2012 - 06:53 PM

I just chedked and my mount came with Version 3.31 of the firmware. I will try to update the firmware tonight to Version 3.32 and if time permits test the AZ-EQ6 with my SkyFi.

Jack

#113 10gauge

10gauge

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 225
  • Joined: 31 Oct 2010
  • Loc: Boston

Posted 12 December 2012 - 08:34 PM

So, does the AZ EQ-6 sold on the Orion website for $2300 have the GPS?

#114 Lee Jay

Lee Jay

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1193
  • Joined: 27 Feb 2008
  • Loc: Westminster, CO

Posted 12 December 2012 - 08:52 PM

So, does the AZ EQ-6 sold on the Orion website for $2300 have the GPS?


It doesn't appear to. It says "sold separately" under GPS in the specs.

#115 Jack Huerkamp

Jack Huerkamp

    Vendor - Waning Moon

  • -----
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 1047
  • Joined: 13 Oct 2005
  • Loc: Louisiana

Posted 12 December 2012 - 09:18 PM

I just installed V3.32 of the firmware to the mount and the controller now indicates the following:

Hardware 3.06
Firmware 3.32
Data Base 3.32

I then did a fake alignment inside and connected my SkyFi to the mount using the SynScan cable that arrived today from Southern Stars. I firs tused my iPhone 4S to control the AZ-EQ6 and during Survivor, I controlled the mount using my iPAD. This was with the mount set up in EQ mode. Tomorrow I will repeat the testing with the mount set up in Alt-Az mode. For now I am a VERY happy camper.

Jack Huerkamp

#116 neilson

neilson

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 538
  • Joined: 22 Aug 2010

Posted 12 December 2012 - 09:42 PM

Maybe the extra $100 was to remove the GPS.
Celestrons gps is now $199. Orions GPS doesn't show a price at Telescopes.com. But if its the same then the mount should be $199. less not $100. more. Thats $300. more for the Orion if you get the Celestron GPS.
Is there something better about the Orion to warrant the extra cost.

neilson
I Just found the Orion GPS for $149 at one store and $199 at another

#117 johnpd

johnpd

    Messenger

  • -----
  • Posts: 443
  • Joined: 12 Apr 2008

Posted 13 December 2012 - 07:06 AM

Jack,

Did you receive the separate GPS "mouse" unit? It looks like that is required to connect to the satellites.

Edit: This is the manual for it: Synscan GPS (V3) Instruction Manual

JohnD

#118 Jack Huerkamp

Jack Huerkamp

    Vendor - Waning Moon

  • -----
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 1047
  • Joined: 13 Oct 2005
  • Loc: Louisiana

Posted 13 December 2012 - 08:07 AM

Brian of KWTelescopes forgot to pack it with the tripod. He will be sending it to me separately. He told me that the AZ-EQ6 units they are selling include the GPS module. The module plugs into the hand controller and once your location information is feed into the controller and the mount aligned, it can be disconnected. That is important as for computer control, the same port on the hand controller is used.

Jack Huerkamp

#119 Jack Huerkamp

Jack Huerkamp

    Vendor - Waning Moon

  • -----
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 1047
  • Joined: 13 Oct 2005
  • Loc: Louisiana

Posted 13 December 2012 - 09:04 AM

Someone sent me a private message asking if it is possible to change modes of the mount while the OTA is in place. The answer is YES. This morning I quickly moved from 30 degree latitude EQ mode to Alt-Az mode while the two counterweights and my Celestron 9.25 were mounted on the AZ-EQ6.

Jack Huerkamp

#120 neilson

neilson

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 538
  • Joined: 22 Aug 2010

Posted 13 December 2012 - 11:22 AM

Congratulations on your new mount Jack, I do envy you. I look forward to seeing how good it works for imaging when you get to that point.

neilson

#121 johnpd

johnpd

    Messenger

  • -----
  • Posts: 443
  • Joined: 12 Apr 2008

Posted 13 December 2012 - 04:01 PM

Thanks for the info Jack. I confirmed my order and my mount should be on the way shortly.

JohnD

#122 ghataa

ghataa

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 625
  • Joined: 20 Jun 2011
  • Loc: Central, NJ

Posted 13 December 2012 - 04:33 PM

Thanks for the all the info gents. I was close to asking Santa for an Atlas but was concerned it would struggle with a C11. Sounds like this may be able to handle a C11 for AP. I will be following this thread closely!!

Best,

George

#123 Jack Huerkamp

Jack Huerkamp

    Vendor - Waning Moon

  • -----
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 1047
  • Joined: 13 Oct 2005
  • Loc: Louisiana

Posted 13 December 2012 - 08:04 PM

I have a C9.25 on my AZ-EQ6 and the 11" OTA weighs only 7# more. A geltleman in Austria is using a 38# 10" f/5 on his AZ-EQ6 with great results in astrophotography. Your 11" should work great on this mount.

Jack Huerkamp

#124 Jack Huerkamp

Jack Huerkamp

    Vendor - Waning Moon

  • -----
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 1047
  • Joined: 13 Oct 2005
  • Loc: Louisiana

Posted 13 December 2012 - 08:15 PM

Here is a short YouTuber video showing the AZ-EQ6 in ALt-Az mode:

http://youtu.be/Abx33G8vLnI

Jack Huerkamp

#125 Jack Huerkamp

Jack Huerkamp

    Vendor - Waning Moon

  • -----
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 1047
  • Joined: 13 Oct 2005
  • Loc: Louisiana

Posted 13 December 2012 - 08:16 PM

Here is a shorter one showing how quiet the mount is while slewing:

http://youtu.be/Shp1I24dBHo

Jack Huerkamp






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics