Jump to content


Photo

AZ EQ6 in the US?

  • Please log in to reply
209 replies to this topic

#176 Pat at home

Pat at home

    Ranger 4

  • -----
  • Posts: 328
  • Joined: 16 Mar 2007
  • Loc: Campbellton, New Brunswick, Canada

Posted 24 December 2012 - 11:52 AM

Jack... Do you still need to use the original eyepiece tray along with the TPI?
Burt


I would think yes. The ep tray pushes the tripod legs outwards while the TPI assembly pulls the lower part of the tripod inwards. This will stiffen up the tripod considerably. A similar DIY solution could be done with turnbuckles but the TPI tray is pretty useful. Adding weight on the tray increases the mass lower down.

#177 EFT

EFT

    Vendor - Deep Space Products

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 2550
  • Joined: 07 May 2007
  • Loc: Phoenix, AZ

Posted 24 December 2012 - 12:45 PM

Jack... Do you still need to use the original eyepiece tray along with the TPI?
Burt


I would think yes. The ep tray pushes the tripod legs outwards while the TPI assembly pulls the lower part of the tripod inwards. This will stiffen up the tripod considerably. A similar DIY solution could be done with turnbuckles but the TPI tray is pretty useful. Adding weight on the tray increases the mass lower down.


You actually don't need the upper spreader at all. The thing is nearly useless in the first place and it's only use after adding the TPI spreader is to hold eyepieces. By not using the upper spreader, you no longer have to carry that thing around and install and remove it every time you set up or take down the tripod. That's one of my favorite things about adding the lower spreader.

#178 10gauge

10gauge

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 225
  • Joined: 31 Oct 2010
  • Loc: Boston

Posted 24 December 2012 - 01:57 PM

The AZ EQ6 would be amazing on a G11 HD tripod. Since Optical Supports is not taking any orders, at this time, is there another way to get a EQ6-G11 plate adapter? Does the TPI spreader approach the CGE tripod in terms of stability?

#179 Jack Huerkamp

Jack Huerkamp

    Vendor - Waning Moon

  • -----
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 1048
  • Joined: 13 Oct 2005
  • Loc: Louisiana

Posted 25 December 2012 - 01:29 PM

Probably not, but I lightly tightened it against the legs. The tripod with the TPI spreader and tray is amazingly light but strong and vibration free.

Jack Huerkamp

#180 desanctb

desanctb

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 16
  • Joined: 27 Sep 2006
  • Loc: Calgary,Canada

Posted 28 December 2012 - 09:53 AM

I have put my C11hd on it with no issues. Seems to handle the weight, (36lbs) with no strain on the motors. I did however have to use an extra weight to properly balance the OTA.
Burt

#181 Lee Jay

Lee Jay

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1193
  • Joined: 27 Feb 2008
  • Loc: Westminster, CO

Posted 28 December 2012 - 11:29 AM

I have put my C11hd on it with no issues. Seems to handle the weight, (36lbs) with no strain on the motors. I did however have to use an extra weight to properly balance the OTA.
Burt


An extra 11 pound weight? I haven't found any for this mount specifically. Did you have something lying around that worked okay? Did you try it outside? How's the damping?

#182 desanctb

desanctb

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 16
  • Joined: 27 Sep 2006
  • Loc: Calgary,Canada

Posted 28 December 2012 - 11:48 AM

I have not found an extra weight but was able to use the adapter for the dual scope setup on the end of the counterweight shaft as an extra weight. I have not yet had the chance to use the scope outside so cannot comment on damping.
Burt

#183 Lee Jay

Lee Jay

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1193
  • Joined: 27 Feb 2008
  • Loc: Westminster, CO

Posted 28 December 2012 - 02:08 PM

I have not found an extra weight but was able to use the adapter for the dual scope setup on the end of the counterweight shaft as an extra weight.


Clever! And that was sufficient, which is a terrific little trick.

#184 Jack Huerkamp

Jack Huerkamp

    Vendor - Waning Moon

  • -----
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 1048
  • Joined: 13 Oct 2005
  • Loc: Louisiana

Posted 28 December 2012 - 03:31 PM

I just ordered an extra 11# weight from Orion. I know its black and the AZ-EQ6 is white. But my C11 is black as is my c9.25. So I will have counterweights of alternating color - white,black,white.

BTW, Orion is having an accessory sale. I ordered a StarShoot Autoguider for $42 off list and the couterweight was $4 off - both with free shipping.

Jack

#185 Lee Jay

Lee Jay

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1193
  • Joined: 27 Feb 2008
  • Loc: Westminster, CO

Posted 28 December 2012 - 03:55 PM

I just ordered an extra 11# weight from Orion.


Be careful. The EQ6 is listed as having an 18mm counterweight shaft and the AZ version is listed as having a 25mm counterweight shaft. I'm not sure the specs are right, but if they are, I wouldn't expect the weights to be compatible.

#186 Jack Huerkamp

Jack Huerkamp

    Vendor - Waning Moon

  • -----
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 1048
  • Joined: 13 Oct 2005
  • Loc: Louisiana

Posted 28 December 2012 - 05:45 PM

OOPS!

I just checked the shaft on my AZ-EQ6 and it is 25mm. If the weight I ordered is 18mm, I will have to bore it out at my neighbor's shop to fit the 25mm shaft.

Jack

#187 Shiggy

Shiggy

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: 23 Nov 2010
  • Loc: Auckland, New Zealand

Posted 29 December 2012 - 03:16 AM

The EQ6 counterweights sometimes have a metal collar inside the hole to make them fit the smaller diameter shaft. I bought one and removed the collar by banging it out so I could use the counterweight on a vixen mount that took a wider shaft.
You may be able to do the same with the new AZ EQ6 to use old EQ6 counterweights (for weights with the collar rather than actual smaller diameter shaft hole).

Shaun

#188 desanctb

desanctb

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 16
  • Joined: 27 Sep 2006
  • Loc: Calgary,Canada

Posted 30 December 2012 - 01:23 AM

Will anyone that tries Shaun's solution with the old eq6 weights let us know if it indeed works on the 25mm azeq6 shaft? I'm sure there's several of us that could use extra weights. Thanks!
Burt

#189 rmollise

rmollise

    Hubble

  • *****
  • Posts: 15704
  • Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Posted 30 December 2012 - 11:15 AM

Will anyone that tries Shaun's solution with the old eq6 weights let us know if it indeed works on the 25mm azeq6 shaft? I'm sure there's several of us that could use extra weights. Thanks!
Burt


Removing the insert makes the diameter larger, but not large enough. It's easy enough to get weights from Losmandy with this size hole, though.

#190 Mike X.

Mike X.

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 824
  • Joined: 28 Jun 2010
  • Loc: Greece-Athens and Rome-Italy

Posted 30 December 2012 - 12:59 PM

It works for the celestron cg5 and and for the cgem ( i use SW weights for my cg5 and i removed the ring) but i'm afraid that the Gain in diameter is no more than 2-3mm just as uncle Rod said.

#191 HowardK

HowardK

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1091
  • Joined: 20 Oct 2010

Posted 07 January 2013 - 04:37 PM

In which country are these mounts produced?

Is Sky Watcher a UK based company?

#192 rmollise

rmollise

    Hubble

  • *****
  • Posts: 15704
  • Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Posted 07 January 2013 - 05:47 PM

In which country are these mounts produced?

Is Sky Watcher a UK based company?


"SkyWatcher" and "Celestron" don't make anything. They are brand names of Synta (China)... ;)

#193 HowardK

HowardK

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1091
  • Joined: 20 Oct 2010

Posted 07 January 2013 - 06:01 PM

Right

Ty, Rod

How o u like the look of this mount?

#194 rmollise

rmollise

    Hubble

  • *****
  • Posts: 15704
  • Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Posted 08 January 2013 - 07:43 AM

I like the way it looks--a lot. Wish they'd brought it in for a little less money is all. :lol:

#195 TMSP

TMSP

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 42
  • Joined: 21 Jul 2012

Posted 14 January 2013 - 06:54 PM

Well I have held off (I went for the TeleVue) on the self-gifting of this mount and will probably wait a bit and bring one in from Canada.

I have heard generally good reviews, but "first look" stuff. Of course a few comments on lack of perfect alignment out of box, but may be a getting to know you issue. I guess I will assume those that have report continue to experience good results, but it would be great to hear any:

Any New Reports

Thanks for any comments. I usually buy new equipment to fast, I am trying to be more considered, while I work on the rest of the kit.

By the way, the 22mm Nagler showed M42 like I had never seen at our clubs "dark" site. We did have really great seeing. But, amazing!

#196 Jack Huerkamp

Jack Huerkamp

    Vendor - Waning Moon

  • -----
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 1048
  • Joined: 13 Oct 2005
  • Loc: Louisiana

Posted 15 January 2013 - 07:59 AM

If the skies ever clear here in Louisiana, I will be giving mine a try on real versus virtual stars from my living room.

More to follow.

Jack Huerkamp

#197 opticsguy

opticsguy

    Messenger

  • -----
  • Posts: 427
  • Joined: 02 Feb 2009
  • Loc: Washington State

Posted 15 January 2013 - 10:25 AM

I live in USA and only one hour from Vancouver Canada. What steps would i need to take to bring one of these mounts home? I could have it shipped to Vancouver.

#198 opticsguy

opticsguy

    Messenger

  • -----
  • Posts: 427
  • Joined: 02 Feb 2009
  • Loc: Washington State

Posted 15 January 2013 - 10:32 AM

Also, Orion advertises a 44 pound weight capacity but the finer print shows this as equally loaded with two scopes in alt/az mode. Not one scope, a little misleading in my opinion.

#199 opticsguy

opticsguy

    Messenger

  • -----
  • Posts: 427
  • Joined: 02 Feb 2009
  • Loc: Washington State

Posted 15 January 2013 - 10:44 AM

My only wish is a 45 pound capacity rating on one side for EQ or AZ. I have a 12" F/4 scope at 40 pounds plus rings and finder and eyepiece, a bit overload for this mounting. Maybe i could bandsaw the scope in half, install at each end . . .

#200 Lee Jay

Lee Jay

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1193
  • Joined: 27 Feb 2008
  • Loc: Westminster, CO

Posted 15 January 2013 - 10:56 AM

My only wish is a 45 pound capacity rating on one side for EQ or AZ. I have a 12" F/4 scope at 40 pounds plus rings and finder and eyepiece, a bit overload for this mounting. Maybe i could bandsaw the scope in half, install at each end . . .


An innovative solution. I think you should patent that idea.






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics