Jump to content


Photo

AZ EQ6 in the US?

  • Please log in to reply
209 replies to this topic

#201 HowardK

HowardK

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1091
  • Joined: 20 Oct 2010

Posted 15 January 2013 - 12:29 PM

Also, Orion advertises a 44 pound weight capacity but the finer print shows this as equally loaded with two scopes in alt/az mode. Not one scope, a little misleading in my opinion.


I do not believe that is correct.
I thought it was 44lbs main scope in alt az and 2 counterweights equaling 22lbs or a secondary scope of similar weight to balance.

#202 David Pavlich

David Pavlich

    Transmographied

  • *****
  • Administrators
  • Posts: 27924
  • Joined: 18 May 2005
  • Loc: Mandeville, LA USA

Posted 16 January 2013 - 10:18 PM

Well, I saw Jack's mount in person this evening. Looks like a well thought out piece of hardware. And it retains that marvelous Atlas hum. You can barely here it operate. I think this one is going to be a winner. If there was one thing I'd change, it would be the saddle. It's set up for a Losmandy D style dovetail, but it's fairly small. I would make it longer, like the Losmandy G11's saddle.

It looks like we may get a field test report from Jack. After this consarned (thanks, Rod :grin:) stretch of cloudy/rainy weather, it looks like we may be in for about a week's worth of clear skies.

David

#203 Jack Huerkamp

Jack Huerkamp

    Vendor - Waning Moon

  • -----
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 1049
  • Joined: 13 Oct 2005
  • Loc: Louisiana

Posted 17 January 2013 - 08:30 AM

They advertise a 20Kg load for visual and a17Kg load for imaging while in EQ mode and there is a gentleman in Austria using an 18Kg 10" f/5 Newtonian in EQ mode with great success. It would be interesting to see if the mount could handle a 12" f/4. The moment arm would be similar although the weight would be slightly higher.

Jack Huerkamp

#204 Jack Huerkamp

Jack Huerkamp

    Vendor - Waning Moon

  • -----
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 1049
  • Joined: 13 Oct 2005
  • Loc: Louisiana

Posted 17 January 2013 - 08:33 AM

Davis,

Hopefully I will be able to get the mount out this weekend. I have a contractor coming in to help with the observatory and other tasks around the house, but if time permits, I will do so.

Jack

#205 HowardK

HowardK

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1091
  • Joined: 20 Oct 2010

Posted 17 January 2013 - 05:51 PM

Jack

Just received my az eq6

Looks great...very well engineered, great sounding motors, very cool

Looks much more capable than my MT Pro

Let us know how you go

Howard

#206 HowardK

HowardK

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1091
  • Joined: 20 Oct 2010

Posted 18 January 2013 - 07:42 AM

Hi

I have been using sky safari with sky fi perfectly with my CGE PRO mount.

I now have a SKY WATCHER AZ EQ6 and using the same cable from sky fi to the synscan hand controller as i use with the CGE PRO i cannot connect to the mount.

Do i need a specific cable for the SKY WATCHER....or should the Celestron one work?

Thanking you

Howard
Spain

#207 Jack Huerkamp

Jack Huerkamp

    Vendor - Waning Moon

  • -----
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 1049
  • Joined: 13 Oct 2005
  • Loc: Louisiana

Posted 18 January 2013 - 08:35 AM

Howard,

You need the Atlas/SynScan cable for the SkyFi unit. The Celestron cable is not the same.

Also, the mount comes with a cable used for updating the firmware. I did not try it to see if it will work with the SKyFi.

Jack Huerkamp

#208 HowardK

HowardK

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1091
  • Joined: 20 Oct 2010

Posted 18 January 2013 - 07:38 PM

Jack

i have it working now by using the serial cable from sky fi and the serial adapter that came with the az eq6 for firmware updates...but this is clumsy...

do you know of one cable that connects sky fi with synscan..?

carbon12 makes one for the cge pro but not it appears yet for synscan

Howard

#209 Jack Huerkamp

Jack Huerkamp

    Vendor - Waning Moon

  • -----
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 1049
  • Joined: 13 Oct 2005
  • Loc: Louisiana

Posted 19 January 2013 - 10:54 PM

Howard,

Here is a picture of the SkyFi Cable connected to the hand controller on my AZ-EQ6:

Posted Image

Jack

#210 HowardK

HowardK

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1091
  • Joined: 20 Oct 2010

Posted 21 January 2013 - 07:54 AM

thanks Jack

carbon12 are looking in to supplying 1 cable to tidy this up






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics