Jump to content


Photo

CGE Pro

  • Please log in to reply
46 replies to this topic

#26 wolfman_4_ever

wolfman_4_ever

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1245
  • Joined: 15 Jul 2011
  • Loc: El Segundo, Ca, So. Cal

Posted 29 October 2012 - 06:15 PM

:)

I'm perm side by side with my cge-pro..

8.75lb ride on top of the 80mm to get the balance just right..

I use TheSkyX.. just got finished with my polar alignment and a 345 point t-point run.. whew... Just got the mount back from our friends at Deep Space Products. The CGE Pro got some Hypertune TLC and a little massage from aeroquest..

Got it within 60 arc seconds.. I could get it closer but the latitude and azi adjustment can be a major pain in the rear end plus I autoguide anyways.... I've done it so many times now, I can get it pretty darn close in one night..

#27 JeffBosworth

JeffBosworth

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 82
  • Joined: 17 Apr 2012
  • Loc: Ohio, USA

Posted 30 October 2012 - 09:49 AM

The CGE Pro is on its way. The dealer is in MD and because of the possible loss of power they asked Celestron to drop ship one to me from CA. Should have it Friday.

Now, what is this "hypertune" for the mount?

Jeff

#28 JeffBosworth

JeffBosworth

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 82
  • Joined: 17 Apr 2012
  • Loc: Ohio, USA

Posted 30 October 2012 - 10:11 AM

Lou, what was the "initial alignment difficulty"?

Thanks,
Jeff

#29 wolfman_4_ever

wolfman_4_ever

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1245
  • Joined: 15 Jul 2011
  • Loc: El Segundo, Ca, So. Cal

Posted 30 October 2012 - 11:41 AM

Now, what is this "hypertune" for the mount?

Jeff


Click on Ed Thomas's link above. (The website is probably down...Hurricane Sandy strikes again! 10/30/12)

It's a procedure where the mount is cleaned out of all that bunk "chinese" grease and bunk "chinese" bulk manufacturing defects are "cleaned" up. Makes the mount much smoother and quieter.

You can also upgrade gears, etc.

The HyperTune® Standard telescope mount service includes but is not limited to:
Complete inspection of the equatorial mount head.
Complete dismantle of the equatorial mount head.
Inspection and cleaning of each telescope mount part - removing all metal burrs, shavings, thick grease and foreign objects.
High resolution sanding and polishing of moving internal parts to a mirror-like finish resulting in high smoothness of internal metal parts and “glide like” performance from your telescope mount.
Inspection and adjustment of motors and encoders with gear set screws replaced as necessary.
Reassembly of your equatorial telescope mount using high grade synthetic grease.
Resetting of worm gear meshing.
Adjustment of backlash settings in RA and DEC.

#30 wolfman_4_ever

wolfman_4_ever

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1245
  • Joined: 15 Jul 2011
  • Loc: El Segundo, Ca, So. Cal

Posted 30 October 2012 - 11:45 AM

Lou, what was the "initial alignment difficulty"?

Thanks,
Jeff


The altitude and Azimuth adjustment can be a major pain in the rear end. Especially with weight/OTA on the mount.

Adjusting the altitude can make it shift in Azi since the adjustment is this knob/bolt. The bolt can shift side to side on the plate (instead of up and down). I find it easier and more precise by lifting the counterweight bar and then turning the knob and then resting the mount back on the knob.

#31 LouHalikman

LouHalikman

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 96
  • Joined: 23 Feb 2011
  • Loc: North Central Maryland

Posted 30 October 2012 - 11:47 AM

It had not been set property at the factory. I called Celestron, and a neighbor who has one came over to help. Simply erasing the memory and restoring factory defaults through the utilities corrected the problem. The gotos are right on and alignment was simple. Lou

#32 JeffBosworth

JeffBosworth

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 82
  • Joined: 17 Apr 2012
  • Loc: Ohio, USA

Posted 30 October 2012 - 07:09 PM

Thanks, Lou. This mount is coming straight from Celestron in Torrance, CA so I'm assuming they've checked it over. I do think I'll hold off on the Hypertune until I get to a time when the weather isn't going to be good for scoping - for about a month or so. I suspect the mount's grease will work just fine for a while. I'm not so sure that Chinese grease these days is all that bad. I sell Chinese made high-end ukulele online and I have to say that the quality of those instruments often exceeds custom made ones. I also have some Chinese made optical accessories that are just phenomenal. Japanese optics used to be what one aspired to in that region, now, who knows?

BTW, all, I've been advised by the vendor I bought the CGE Pro from that Celestron is having a $1,000 off sale on all CGE Pro configurations beginning Thursday. The vendor is Hands On Optics in MD. And I am really pleased with their customer service so far. They're up there with Agena Astroproducts as far as service goes.

Jeff

#33 JeffBosworth

JeffBosworth

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 82
  • Joined: 17 Apr 2012
  • Loc: Ohio, USA

Posted 30 October 2012 - 07:18 PM

The altitude and Azimuth adjustment can be a major pain in the rear end. Especially with weight/OTA on the mount.

Adjusting the altitude can make it shift in Azi since the adjustment is this knob/bolt. The bolt can shift side to side on the plate (instead of up and down). I find it easier and more precise by lifting the counterweight bar and then turning the knob and then resting the mount back on the knob.


I would think that one only need adjust the Alt once, unless you're moving it around. Same with the Azimuth. Luckily, I will be putting this in my observatory on its rather sizeable tripod for the moment. If it works out and I don't have to ship it back to Celestron for warranty work, I have a friend who will weld a permanent pier system for me.

#34 wolfman_4_ever

wolfman_4_ever

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1245
  • Joined: 15 Jul 2011
  • Loc: El Segundo, Ca, So. Cal

Posted 31 October 2012 - 12:11 AM

Yes.. getting the adjustment to that exact location can be problematic... The first time..

#35 dobsoscope

dobsoscope

    Messenger

  • *****
  • Posts: 412
  • Joined: 24 May 2006

Posted 31 October 2012 - 03:30 AM

Why not a Mesu 200 ?

#36 Phil Wheeler

Phil Wheeler

    Vanguard

  • -----
  • Posts: 2018
  • Joined: 31 Dec 2005
  • Loc: 3 miles WNW of Celestron

Posted 01 November 2012 - 09:58 AM

There is a sale this month on the CGE Pro, $1,000 off:

https://www.astronom...-heavy-duty-...

Likely it is other places, too. I'd be tempted but I just bought and am waiting for first light on an ASGT. Got a good price on it and -- with me being small and 76 in two months -- the ASGT is plenty heavy and will support my scopes (80mm APO, 5" C+ SCT, 8" SCT) well enough.

Phil

#37 JeffBosworth

JeffBosworth

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 82
  • Joined: 17 Apr 2012
  • Loc: Ohio, USA

Posted 02 November 2012 - 06:13 AM

Correct, Phil. Celestron is offering all CGE Pro configurations $1000 off through the end of November, I believe. It was that sale that allowed me to pull the trigger on buying it. I just happened to find the pricing before it was announced.

BTW, the mount arrives today! Figures the barnlot where my observatory is located is a big muddy mess from the hurricane's overflow. So The mount will come inside the house until things dry up a bit. I could just see me sinking deep into the Ohio clay trying to carry that monster mount out there... :)

Jeff

#38 Pak

Pak

    Vostok 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 189
  • Joined: 15 Sep 2012
  • Loc: The Great Arc

Posted 03 November 2012 - 01:01 PM

Yah if you can pick one up for that much of a savings it is really worth it. I am looking for a used one then I will send it to Ed and have him rebuild it for me. I really wish the CGE-PRO had internal cable routing but you can't have everything.

Whenever Celestron drops their prices by 10% I come close to buying one with a 11" EdgeHD. The savings almost covers a hyperstar.

Maybe there will be some extra good deals at ASAE next weekend. Starizona has no excuse not to be there.

#39 JeffBosworth

JeffBosworth

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 82
  • Joined: 17 Apr 2012
  • Loc: Ohio, USA

Posted 04 November 2012 - 09:12 AM

The mount arrived Friday afternoon. Two huge (and heavy!) boxes and one little heavy one with the counterweight. The longest box had the massive tripod. I could carry that from the UPS truck to my front porch but the driver had to help with the mount box - it was 107lbs. Since my observatory is about 100 yards behind the house I used a wheelbarrow to move the separate parts out there after unpacking them. I set up and leveled the tripod, the electronics pier, and then manhandled the mount on top. I attached everything with the 6 screws provided and came indoors.

Reading the manual, I discovered I'd put the electronics pier on about 180 degrees out from where it was supposed to be positioned. All I had to do was undo the screws and turn it. When in doubt, RTFM (read the manual). I plugged it in and fired it up. Right off the bat I realized it didn't have the index marks that the CGEM has. Instead, the HC asked to find the "switch". The manual said nothing about what this switch was or what I had to do. So I shut it off in hopes I could find an explanation somewhere before going through a process I didn't have a clue about.

Came down with a nasty flu so I haven't had the energy to go out and play with it further. I don't even have the OTA on it yet. I hate winter and the cold...

Jeff

#40 LouHalikman

LouHalikman

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 96
  • Joined: 23 Feb 2011
  • Loc: North Central Maryland

Posted 04 November 2012 - 09:35 AM

Just turn it on. It will seek the "switch position" on it's own. You are then ready to align.

I found it difficult to align the electronics pier with north. My scope is observatory mounted on a concrete pier. I had to adjust the mounting of the electronics pier to the base plate of the pier several times before I had it in a close enough position that I could achieve polar alignment with the rotation adjustment screw. It is a real oversight in my opinion that the electronics pier does not have a marker on it that says "north".

The altitude screw is a bear. Hold the OTA up when adjusting to take some of the weight off of the screw. I literally had to use a pipe wrench to adjust it.

When you start to align, if it misses the first and second alignment stars by a wide margin, go to utilities and restore factory defaults. It should work fine then.

Good luck. Lou

#41 JeffBosworth

JeffBosworth

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 82
  • Joined: 17 Apr 2012
  • Loc: Ohio, USA

Posted 04 November 2012 - 09:51 AM

Thanks, Lou. But what is the "switch"? Something to do with the encoders?

The manual says to align the electronics pier so that the RA and DEC cable plugs are on the east side. I have the tripod set up so that the leg under the bubble level is pointing north. Once the OTA is on it it should be pretty close to polar aligned. I'm sure I'll have to fine tune it. The latitude (alt) pointer seems to be a bit ambiguous. There isn't a fine point but rather a rounded edge. Once aligned, who cares what it actually points to, I guess.

Jeff

#42 mclewis1

mclewis1

    Thread Killer

  • ****-
  • Posts: 11069
  • Joined: 25 Feb 2006
  • Loc: New Brunswick, Canada

Posted 04 November 2012 - 11:47 AM

Jeff,

There are micro switches on both the RA and DEC axis. The switches are tripped by physical indentations on the shafts. They provide a solid reproducible starting point for the mount. The CGEM on the other hand uses soft index marks (only markings on the outside of the mount), if you used those marks great but you didn't have to (the mount never "knew" where the marks are ... it just assumed that you were starting using them).

With the Celestron firmware you can setup an arbitrary home position for the mount. That can be any appropriate position or it can also be the same as the switch's home position.

One of the benefits of the physical switches is in remote operations ... when the mount it powered off and then powered back up it will always know where it is ... and this isn't the case with the other mounts that have the soft marks, they can be powered off in any position and the mount won't know that when it's powered back up.

#43 Phil Wheeler

Phil Wheeler

    Vanguard

  • -----
  • Posts: 2018
  • Joined: 31 Dec 2005
  • Loc: 3 miles WNW of Celestron

Posted 04 November 2012 - 08:04 PM

The mount arrived Friday afternoon. Two huge (and heavy!) boxes and one little heavy one with the counterweight. The longest box had the massive tripod. I could carry that from the UPS truck to my front porch but the driver had to help with the mount box - it was 107lbs.


Sounds good, Jeff, except the flu part. No observatory here in metro Los Angeles. Serious viewing means a long drive to mountains and deserts. Your new CGE Pro sounds like a move it once and leave it there proposition. Good you were able to get such a nice discount on it :)

#44 Phil Wheeler

Phil Wheeler

    Vanguard

  • -----
  • Posts: 2018
  • Joined: 31 Dec 2005
  • Loc: 3 miles WNW of Celestron

Posted 04 November 2012 - 08:13 PM

This mount is coming straight from Celestron in Torrance, CA so I'm assuming they've checked it over.


Jeff, that means it may have shipped from 3 miles ESE of my location -- also in Torrance. I've had very good luck with Celestron. My new ASGT arrived from Oceanside (OPT) 50-60 miles away. I'm struck by how well finished it is for the price ($630 or so plus tax). My Alt-Az mount (NexStar 8SE) does not seem quite as clean. My earlier scope (NS8GPS -- given to a local astronomer who could handle the size but not the price) also seemed well made. The ASGT (fired up indoor a couple of days ago after receiving the NexStar+ HC from OPT) seems to run properly and more quietly than I expected (payload now is WO ZenithStar 80 FD, my smallest scope).

#45 JeffBosworth

JeffBosworth

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 82
  • Joined: 17 Apr 2012
  • Loc: Ohio, USA

Posted 05 November 2012 - 07:10 AM

Thanks, everyone for the advice and tips. Now the switch concept makes sense. That must be the little clicking noise I hear when I loosen the clutches and rotate the axes.

I got the SkyWatcher on the mount late yesterday but still didn't feel well enough to play with it. I did get some photos that I'll post on Facebook.

Jeff

#46 wolfman_4_ever

wolfman_4_ever

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1245
  • Joined: 15 Jul 2011
  • Loc: El Segundo, Ca, So. Cal

Posted 05 November 2012 - 05:41 PM

Switch clicking. yes.. Normal when rotating axis..

The electronics pier can be put any which way you want as long as the bolt holes line up... It doesn't matter It's a cylinder... Ideally you would want the RA and DEC cables on the east side unless you want cable wrap... Sigh...

Observatory here in metro Los Angeles. If Phil is 3miles ESE of Celestron, Phil must be very close to me.. I'm 8miles ESE..

The mount head, you want the CW pointed north..

#47 JeffBosworth

JeffBosworth

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 82
  • Joined: 17 Apr 2012
  • Loc: Ohio, USA

Posted 05 November 2012 - 09:30 PM

Yeah, the pier will go any way you want, but the cable jacks should be on the easterly side or they'll get wrapped up badly. They could have made them a tad longer. I also wish they had included an AC adapter. For a mount in this price range a $60 adapter should have been included. Instead they give you a cigarette lighter power cord that is extremely long. There is no way I'm going to be plugging this mount into a cigarette lighter. That worthless (to me) "accessory" will sit in a box for years until I throw it out.

The counterweight is pointed north - when the scope is rotated up. This is the "home" position so that the roof can roll back without hitting the scope. Almost closed the roof with the scope rotated up once. Talk about panic... :)

Jeff






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics