14 replies to this topic

#1 Urban Observer

Urban Observer

Sputnik

• -----

Posted 29 October 2012 - 06:12 AM

Hi All,

I'm new to sketching...
I'm just getting back into Astronomy, after a 3 year hiatus. I've decided to stay away from any form of photography this time; and to stick with astro-sketching only.
I live in a fairly urban area, with heavy light pollution.
My current optics are a Bushnell 5" Dob and a pair of Barska 15x70's with appropriate tripod, and an OIII filter (Zhumell brand-poor performance).
After several weeks of (the usual) studying & researching what my next instrument will be: I've narrowed it down (generally) to either:
A.) 25x100 binocs w/ proper tripod -or- B.)An 8 or 10" Dobsonian w/ some additional Nebula filters.

The Binocs I'm considering all have threaded EPs, so I do plan to (eventually) add light pollution filters to the kit (in the future)
I'd appreciate any opinions, from you experienced Sketchers...

Thanks very much!
Clear skies,
-Al

#2 Jef De Wit

Jef De Wit

Mercury-Atlas

• Loc: Hove, Belgium

Posted 29 October 2012 - 07:21 AM

Good idea to get back into astronomy and sketching. My advise: you don't need a new scope for sketching. Start to observe all the bright (and big) objects with your Bushnell or Barska.

#3 frank5817

frank5817

Cosmos

• Loc: Illinois

Posted 29 October 2012 - 10:37 AM

Jef is correct of course. You can also sketch without any optical aide at all. Star patterns, Moon, planets at night make for good targets.

Frank :)

#4 Carol L

Carol L

Fly Me to the Moon

• Loc: Tomahawk, WI 45N//89W

Posted 29 October 2012 - 03:15 PM

Hi, Al ! :)

Between the two choices you've given, i'd definitely go for the 8" or 10" Dob. With it, you can always change the eyepiece and increase the magnification - not so with 25x100 binos. Come to think of it, i don't think i ever made any sketches at all while using my own big binos (22x100's). But i'm always sketching while using my 16" Lightbridge.