Photo

Remote and Robust! How do you do that? Generally.

• Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#1 CMacD

CMacD

Vostok 1

• -----
  • Loc: Ontario, Canada

Posted 03 November 2012 - 10:45 AM

"There is more than one way to skin a cat". I work in the software development business and the old adage certainly applies there. I know there was a thread here a while ago about connection software from one computer system to another but I am concerned about much more than that at this point. Ultimately my Star Cruiser will be fully remote, hundreds or perhaps thousands of miles away. It will need to run on solar power with battery storage and have systems to control the physical hardware of the roof, the scope, the cameras, be sensitive to the weather, and have redundant systems to allow for unforeseen software or hardware glitches. I will need at least one back door system that can hopefully reset things in the event of certain system failures etc. The list goes on.

This is where I need guidance. I am sure I could piece together something that would work, but would it be robust? It's the system failures that have me concerned: the single points of failure specifically that I do not have enough experience with. Working with computers all day I know just how unreliable they can be. And the software that they run - well that really has me worried. I've worked for 20 years in software QA. And believe me - I will NEVER be out of work! EVER!

1) What does a robust fully remote observatory look like? I mean the pieces specifically. How do they usually go together? Is it best to have one main control center like a PC running Windows that connects to a main hardware controller or is it best to have discreet systems that work in parallel with one another controlled by a series of hardware limit switches etc?