Jump to content


Photo

Did your CG-4 come with a

  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Dennis_S253

Dennis_S253

    Surveyor 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 1726
  • Joined: 22 Nov 2011
  • Loc: West Central Florida

Posted 07 November 2012 - 02:51 PM

Did your CG-4 come with a R.A. Vernier Scale? I guess this is why I hate buying used.

#2 Mike4242

Mike4242

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1088
  • Joined: 02 Nov 2011
  • Loc: West Tennessee

Posted 07 November 2012 - 07:49 PM

My CG-4 has the R.A. vernier scale.

#3 Dennis_S253

Dennis_S253

    Surveyor 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 1726
  • Joined: 22 Nov 2011
  • Loc: West Central Florida

Posted 07 November 2012 - 08:34 PM

Hey Mike4242, Did it already come attached with the scope? Or was it something you had to put on? Do you have a pic of it? Mine doesn't have one, well I don't think it does. Thx...

#4 Gary Riley

Gary Riley

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 297
  • Joined: 01 Dec 2011
  • Loc: White Bluff, TN

Posted 08 November 2012 - 12:46 AM

I have the CG-4 as well and it came with the scale already attached as well.

#5 Dennis_S253

Dennis_S253

    Surveyor 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 1726
  • Joined: 22 Nov 2011
  • Loc: West Central Florida

Posted 08 November 2012 - 02:28 AM

pic please. I need to know what it looks like and how it is attached. Mine only has a little pointer.

#6 exparrot

exparrot

    Explorer 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 98
  • Joined: 13 Feb 2012
  • Loc: Dallas/Fort Worth, TX

Posted 08 November 2012 - 06:43 AM

I cropped this from a larger pic that I have of my CG-4. I think the scale is just glued on.

Jerry

Attached Files



#7 Jon Isaacs

Jon Isaacs

    ISS

  • *****
  • Posts: 43879
  • Joined: 16 Jun 2004
  • Loc: San Diego and Boulevard, CA

Posted 08 November 2012 - 07:33 AM

I cropped this from a larger pic that I have of my CG-4. I think the scale is just glued on.

Jerry


I believe Dennis has an earlier model CG-4 which may be slightly different in terms of the R-A scale. This is a photo of an earlier CG-4 that I believe should be the same as Dennis's.

CG-4 RA scale

I have an Orion AstroView which was the same mount as the original CG-4s, it looks like the one in the photo. The difference is probably just the cover. Maybe Dennis can post a photo of the bottom end of his scope.

Jon

#8 Dennis_S253

Dennis_S253

    Surveyor 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 1726
  • Joined: 22 Nov 2011
  • Loc: West Central Florida

Posted 08 November 2012 - 10:11 AM

Thanks guys. yea Jon, thats the one. Ok, so I don't have the scale. It must have fell off or something. I'm not sure how critical it is to have? Maybe I'll check into see who may have one. Thx again.

#9 Jon Isaacs

Jon Isaacs

    ISS

  • *****
  • Posts: 43879
  • Joined: 16 Jun 2004
  • Loc: San Diego and Boulevard, CA

Posted 08 November 2012 - 10:40 AM

Thanks guys. yea Jon, thats the one. Ok, so I don't have the scale. It must have fell off or something. I'm not sure how critical it is to have? Maybe I'll check into see who may have one. Thx again.


If you have the pointer and the degree circles themselves that's what you really need. The vernier is a nice touch but probably not very useful, the other errors in the alignment are probably large enough that the vernier won't get you any closer.. just eyeball it using the off-set coordinates from a nearby known star.

Jon

#10 Mike4242

Mike4242

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1088
  • Joined: 02 Nov 2011
  • Loc: West Tennessee

Posted 08 November 2012 - 10:48 AM

Just now getting back to this thread. Mine looks exactly like Jerry's.

#11 Dennis_S253

Dennis_S253

    Surveyor 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 1726
  • Joined: 22 Nov 2011
  • Loc: West Central Florida

Posted 08 November 2012 - 11:07 AM

That's what I was just setting here thinking Jon. If my polar align is close, then just using the pointer and RA circle, I should be close when searching for something. Within 3-5 degrees or closer. I think I'll be fine. I'll find out tonight....Clear skies are coming

#12 Jon Isaacs

Jon Isaacs

    ISS

  • *****
  • Posts: 43879
  • Joined: 16 Jun 2004
  • Loc: San Diego and Boulevard, CA

Posted 08 November 2012 - 11:20 AM

That's what I was just setting here thinking Jon. If my polar align is close, then just using the pointer and RA circle, I should be close when searching for something. Within 3-5 degrees or closer. I think I'll be fine. I'll find out tonight....Clear skies are coming


Dennis:

What I do is Polar align it as best I can. If I am looking for an object, I find a bright star relatively close, look up the RA and Dec for it, use those to reset the RA and Dec on the mount, this reduces the errors in your alignment.

If the Dec cannot be readjusted, then I just note the difference between what should be and what it measures and use add or subtract that offset to that for desired object.

I hope this makes sense and have fun with your "new" scope.

Jon

#13 Dennis_S253

Dennis_S253

    Surveyor 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 1726
  • Joined: 22 Nov 2011
  • Loc: West Central Florida

Posted 08 November 2012 - 12:38 PM

Thats what I use to do with my B&L 4000 also. I miss the RA drive motor though. It looks like Celestron discontined the single axis RA drive. They want you to buy the dual axis I guess? I don't see the need for dual axis on a EQ Mount.

#14 Jon Isaacs

Jon Isaacs

    ISS

  • *****
  • Posts: 43879
  • Joined: 16 Jun 2004
  • Loc: San Diego and Boulevard, CA

Posted 09 November 2012 - 07:07 AM

Thats what I use to do with my B&L 4000 also. I miss the RA drive motor though. It looks like Celestron discontined the single axis RA drive. They want you to buy the dual axis I guess? I don't see the need for dual axis on a EQ Mount.


I actually prefer the single axis so I disconnected the Dec Motor... My ideal GEM would have motorized tracking with manual slow motion controls on both axes and slip clutches to allow me to point the scope manually as well.

Jon






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics