10 replies to this topic

#1 stray1

stray1

Mariner 2

• -----
  • Loc: SW Ohio

Posted 11 November 2012 - 05:56 AM

Hello!

I am a noob when it comes to star sketching (heck, I’m a noob at astronomy period); however, I recently purchased an Orion Astroview 90mm telescope with this type of artwork in mind. This evening, after several attempts at splitting some doubles for the Sissy Haas project, I settled in for an easier set of objects. My method at the EP is to simply scribble down basic placements and notes on magnitude, etc. to be later re-“drawn” using Paint.NET.

I am presenting this with the hope that more experienced artists will offer unbiased critique and suggestions for improvement. While my intent is to portray “realistic” renditions of what I actually see through my eyepiece, at this early stage I am not so much concerned with technical perfection (measurements, etc) as I am with someone who is familiar with these objects to be able to recognize them when they view one of my sketches.

That being said, can you recognize what I have “drawn” here?

Thanks,

:grin:

-stray-

Attached Files

#2 Asbytec

Asbytec

Guy in a furry hat

• Loc: La Union, PI

Posted 11 November 2012 - 06:45 AM

Orion Nebula and the Trapezium. Not too shabby. :)

How did your get the nebula appearance in paint.net? Blur? Try sketch paint, it has more artistic features. Download at upper left.
http://www.onemotion...h/sketch-paint/

#3 stray1

stray1

Mariner 2

• -----

Posted 11 November 2012 - 12:49 PM

Yes, the Trapezium is correct :grin:

The nebula effect was achieved through multiple layers of white, black, and grey lines, blotches, etc. that I then blurred with a filter.

Thank you for the link to the sketching page. I'll check that out!

-stray-

#4 azure1961p

azure1961p

Voyager 1

• Loc: USA

Posted 11 November 2012 - 02:56 PM