• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 markgf

markgf

Vostok 1

• -----
  • Loc: Gold Coast, Qld, Australia

Posted 13 November 2012 - 06:43 AM

Hi All. I'm new to astronomy and trying for the dumb question of the year award.

The Astrotech RC range is optimised for imaging but good optics and compactness (of the 6 and 8 inch models) attract me for visual use, at least initially.

Do these telescopes put the focus point so far behind the optical tube that using them primarily as a visual scope is not practicable?

Thanks...Mark

#2 David Pavlich

David Pavlich

Transmographied

• Administrators
  • Loc: Mandeville, LA USA

Posted 13 November 2012 - 08:42 AM

Welcome to Cloudy Nights! The scope can be used for visual and you'll have to experiment with spacers to see where it achieves focus. The scope comes with the spacers that you'll need. You will lose a bit of contrast due to the large secondary mirror (central obstruction). But it'll be ok until you try some real low powered eyepieces.

Have you thought about a Schmidt-Cassegrain like an 8" Meade or Celestron? Dimensionally, very similar and a bit more forgiving on the visual side.

David

#3 markgf

markgf

Vostok 1

• -----

Posted 13 November 2012 - 09:57 PM

Thanks David. Yes, a small Schmidt-cass might be just the shot. About 15% more unobstructed area than a Ritchey-Chretien. Plus I'm nervous about having the diagonal on an RC sticking out 3 inches behind the optical tube, if that really is necessary.

However, assuming a visual back end on an imaging RC isn't too wierd, I'm happy to trade off a little contrast for improved acuity if RC optics are meaningfully better than SC, and if I can get at least 5" of very high quality unobstructed aperture. A 6" RC with a 50% central obstruction is about the same as a 5.2" unobstructed aperture. (An 8" RC has ~7" equivalent unobstructed). Is there more to it for contrast?