Jump to content


Photo

Nexremote and PHD problems

  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Henry37

Henry37

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 58
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2009
  • Loc: Georgia

Posted 15 November 2012 - 10:02 AM

Since I have downloaded the latest version of Nexremote I cannot get Nexremote or PHD to move the mount. Nexremote installs the firmware OK. When I tell it to slew somewhere the icon that indicates it is slewing turns briefly but does not move the scope. I accidentally tried this with the mount powered off and it does the same thing. PHD will not calibrate. It does not move the star at all. I cannot go back a version in Nexremote because the program will not start. any clues would be appreciated. This is on a Netbook with Windows 7 Starter and a CGEM.

#2 Henry37

Henry37

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 58
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2009
  • Loc: Georgia

Posted 16 November 2012 - 07:47 PM

I am ashamed to admit the problem. After much swapping of cables and even trying a different laptop, I stumbled onto the problem. The cable from the guider was plugged into the AUX port instead of the guide port. I hope someone learns from my stupidity.

#3 rmollise

rmollise

    Hubble

  • *****
  • Posts: 15371
  • Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Posted 19 November 2012 - 11:39 AM

Been there done that. :lol:






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics