Photo

"Darker" site in NJ to view Fridays meteor shower?

• Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 92hatchattack

92hatchattack

Explorer 1

• -----

Posted 15 November 2012 - 05:55 PM

Hey everyone. I am just getting into astronomy and have just started kinda researching scopes and binoculars and ready The Backyard Astronomer's Guide at the moment. I live in central NJ and have an interest in viewing this Fridays meteor shower with my son.

As I am new, I do not belong to any clubs yet, or know of any local observing sites. Does anyone know of any area within around 45 minutes of Middlesex County that is darker and better for observing than where I may be here in Sayreville? Im kinda looking for a nice wide open spot that is public and I wont get run off my owners or the police or anything.

Will the meteors be visible in my light polluted area?

Thanks for your time everyone!

---Joe

#2 Tony Flanders

Tony Flanders

Voyager 1

• Loc: Cambridge, MA, USA

Posted 15 November 2012 - 08:07 PM

I'll let New Jersyites answer the immediate question.

But if you're hoping to view the Leonids, you should be aware that they're expected to be quite weak -- maybe one meteor every 5 or 10 minutes at a pristine site. Moreover, they don't really get going until the small hours of the morning.

My bet is that most people who go out to view the Leonids will see more Taurids than Leonids. The Taurid shower has been going on for some weeks now -- low level but very long lasting.

I saw a nice meteor last night but it was neither a Leonid nor or Taurid.

#3 92hatchattack

92hatchattack

Explorer 1

• -----

Posted 15 November 2012 - 11:20 PM

Yeah. I saw one when the power was out from the storm, but I am thinking I am SOL in my location now. This is what I get by saying "Eh, I'll join a club when I get some gear" I probably could have had access to a place where I could kick back in a lawn chair with some hot chocolate and relax for the evening.