Dew on Newtonian?

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 James Cunningham

James Cunningham

Gemini

• Loc: Maryland

Posted 20 November 2012 - 07:58 AM

I just got a 5 inch Newtonian scope. Will I ever have dew problems with it. I only ask because the mirror is at the back and it would seem that the tube would act as a dew shield. Thanks.

#2 Jarad

Jarad

Fly Me to the Moon

• Loc: Atlanta, GA

Posted 20 November 2012 - 08:07 AM

In general, with a solid tube newt you will not get dew on the primary (except on the worst of nights). The secondary, however, may dew up more easily.

Jarad

#3 James Cunningham

James Cunningham

Gemini

• Loc: Maryland

Posted 20 November 2012 - 08:13 AM

I am new to Newtonian scopes. Where is the secondary?

#4 Mirzam

Mirzam

Skylab

• Loc: Lovettsville, VA

Posted 20 November 2012 - 08:28 AM

The secondary is up near the front end in the middle of the tube. You may need to adjust it. :tounge:

I have seen steel tube newts experience dew problems with the primary. The steel gets real cold on a very clear night and cools below ambient temperatures. This eventually transfers some of the cold to the primary. As was mentioned, this is only likely to happen under pretty severe dewing conditions. The solution is to insulate the tube interior with cork or some sort of liner.

JimC

#5 Scanning4Comets

Scanning4Comets

Markus

• Loc: Canada

Posted 20 November 2012 - 09:06 AM

I've never had my mirror dew up on me or even my secondary for that matter. My tube is lined from front to back inside of the tube with a black felt like material. I also have a really long dew shield.

See attachment.

Cheers,

Attached Files

#6 Achernar

Achernar

Cosmos

• Loc: Mobile, Alabama, USA

Posted 20 November 2012 - 09:28 AM