Jump to content


Photo

NexRemote for 64 bit?

  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 waassaabee

waassaabee

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5150
  • Joined: 26 Nov 2007
  • Loc: Central California Coast

Posted 20 November 2012 - 10:03 AM

I'm pretty sure my laptop is on its way out and have been shopping for a replacement. From what I've read, NexRemote will not work on a 64 bit OS... I've become very attached to driving my CGEM this way and wondered if anyone knew if C has any intention of releasing a 64 bit version. Or is there a way I can make it work with Win7/64 bit...
I know there's probably about as much hope for this, as there is for C to upgrade all of their RS232 requirements... :mad:

Just curious.

#2 simpleisbetter

simpleisbetter

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1848
  • Joined: 18 Apr 2011

Posted 20 November 2012 - 10:10 AM

I run it on my HP Pavilion just fine, drives the CG-5 if that makes any difference. It's original load was Win 7 Premium 64bit and it worked fine for 2 years. I'm now on Win 8 Pro w/ MediaCenter 64bit (installed and emulating Win 7) and it seems to work fine.

#3 RTLR 12

RTLR 12

    Aurora

  • *****
  • Posts: 4580
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2008
  • Loc: The Great Pacific NorthWest

Posted 20 November 2012 - 10:22 AM

Been running fine on my Win 7 Pro 64 for 2 years now. Celestron shows for all windows 32 and 64 bit versions.

http://www.celestron...a=viewdownlo...,7

Stan

#4 waassaabee

waassaabee

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5150
  • Joined: 26 Nov 2007
  • Loc: Central California Coast

Posted 20 November 2012 - 11:00 AM

EXCELLENT!! Now that I read the fine print on Celestrons site it says it won't run on Vista (but what would?)...
Thanks for the responses.






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics