Easy Restoration of Vintage C14 Fork Mount

• Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 TVG

TVG

Sputnik

Posted 20 November 2012 - 10:36 AM

Greetings all,

I recently purchased a vintage C14 fork mount for my home built newt to live on. The mount seems to track well enough, but has some play in the altitude bearing(Older mount with tangent arm dec motor). The mount also seems a bit stiff when moved manually. I would like to take this beast apart and clean/regrease all bearing/gear surfaces. I have searched and sent a email to Celestron, but can not find anything on which lubricant is best. A couple of people suggested white lithium, but there is all kinds of white lithium to choose from. I am wanting to do this right, so any suggestions or tips would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Todd
PS I am also looking for the hand controller or instructions on how to build one my self. I found the wiring schematic, but I am a novice and need more thorough instructions/part list.

#2 Geo.

Geo.

Mercury-Atlas

• Loc: Upstate NY

Posted 21 November 2012 - 09:18 PM

Pretty much any heavy grease will do. The speeds encountered in a worm drive are very slow and the loading is relatively high. So you want a grease with lithium to deal with the loading. Most commercial greases will contain lithium. Petroleum jelly will not.

For the handbox you need two double pole double throw momentary push button switches. Figure about $4 a piece.

And one - Cinch-Jones P-302H-CCT - 6 blade connector @ $7: http://www.mouser.co...sd/645/2568.pdf

A couple feet of 6 conductor cable.

A project box to contain the switches. Something like 4*3*1" will do.

Tools: drill & bits, soldering iron, solder, flux and utility knife.

Attached Files

#3 TVG

TVG

Sputnik

Posted 22 November 2012 - 06:15 PM

Geo,

Awesome, thanks for the response. This is just what I needed. Will this little box be able to control the dec motor as well?
Surely this is not as simple as it sounds, is it?