Jump to content


Photo

Nexstar 8SE on old school HD tripod

  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Bcpaq

Bcpaq

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: 23 Oct 2012
  • Loc: Texas Hill Country

Posted 21 November 2012 - 05:10 PM

Hi,

I have a circa 1996 Celestar with an upgraded heavy duty tripod + wedge.

I am thinking about getting a second scope, an 8" Nexstar SE.

Assuming I obtain bolts that are short enough to clear the Nexstar base gears, can I bolt the Nexstar to my HD tripod? I pounded on search, and found a post that suggests I can. But I'd like a definitive answer.

Basically: "Are the bolt patterns on the Nexstar base, the same as the bolt patterns on old-school tripods?"

I don't want to put the Nexstar on the wedge; just on the tripod.

#2 herrointment

herrointment

    Skylab

  • *****
  • Posts: 4357
  • Joined: 12 Mar 2011
  • Loc: North of Hwy. 64

Posted 21 November 2012 - 08:41 PM

The spacing between the bolts is just shy of 5 5/8" by my dividers (center to center).

Radius is just shy of 3 5/16".

Hope that helps.

Attached Files



#3 bcuddihee

bcuddihee

    Vanguard

  • *****
  • Posts: 2116
  • Joined: 04 Nov 2006
  • Loc: Cincinnati Ohio

Posted 22 November 2012 - 01:31 PM

I have my 8se on a hd tripod...works great!

Attached Files



#4 Bcpaq

Bcpaq

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: 23 Oct 2012
  • Loc: Texas Hill Country

Posted 24 November 2012 - 08:59 AM

Thanks, guys. Very helpful!

#5 orion61

orion61

    Skylab

  • *****
  • Posts: 4498
  • Joined: 20 Oct 2007
  • Loc: Birthplace James T Kirk

Posted 24 November 2012 - 02:30 PM

I have a 127 Celestron nexStar SLT that was so shakey I put an ad out to sell it, even tho I have praised the optics and truely love the scope.
After 6 knee surgerys I just couldn't sit on the ground to use it, (basically the only way I could keep it from shaking 7 seconds from a small bump)
a friend knowing about my problem gave me a tripod he had used with a 90mm refractor. he sold the refractor and the Az alt head but kept the tripod.
I put the heavier legs onto the hub and it has made a great improvement, we are talking 2-3 seconds after a good tap now.
The computer has always been dead on so That was never a problem.
Good job, hopefully some day these mfgrs will get a hint at
how hoplessly under mounted these scopes are coming out these days.
I thought they learned their lessons in the Dimestore days!
Not All scopes are like this tho and my NexStar 6se is great
I think one of the best commercial scopes that has ever been produced. It is a perfect beginner/Grab and Go scope.
It also has a lot of quality punch in those 6" of glass.
Cudos on a very good Quality program. I don't think I
have ever heard of someone being unhappy tith that OTA,
unless they thought it would out perform a C14....
but that same mount put an 8" on it and the whole game changes.....
Listen to us.. we will pay the extra money for a decent mount!!

#6 Bcpaq

Bcpaq

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: 23 Oct 2012
  • Loc: Texas Hill Country

Posted 27 November 2012 - 02:49 PM

UPDATE: I found another thread where compatibility between old-school tripods and SE's is discussed: http://www.cloudynig...4484044/Main...

Short story: It isn't a direct fit, and you need either an adapter, or new holes.

The GOOD news is that I found a new-in-box HD CPC tripod at a local surplus store for a ridiculously low price. From the package markings, it was something that Amazon had lying around their warehouse and decided to remainder. It's now sitting in the back of my car.

Now I just need to get the scope to go with it.

#7 bcuddihee

bcuddihee

    Vanguard

  • *****
  • Posts: 2116
  • Joined: 04 Nov 2006
  • Loc: Cincinnati Ohio

Posted 27 November 2012 - 06:33 PM

that's the ticket...I have the newer version hd tripod and it fits peeeerfectly!






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics