Jump to content


Photo

Taking pictures with your BT

  • Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 beachchairbill

beachchairbill

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1434
  • Joined: 06 Nov 2008

Posted 22 November 2012 - 12:03 AM

Hi everyone,

Has anyone ever used their BT to take pictures of the nighy sky,moon or planets?

Is their a way to use one tube to do this?


Thanks and Happy Turkey Day

Beachchairbill

#2 daniel_h

daniel_h

    Vanguard

  • *****
  • Posts: 2222
  • Joined: 08 Mar 2008
  • Loc: VIC, Australia

Posted 22 November 2012 - 03:16 PM

A short f/l achro won't give the best images...have seen a few take some decent Luna shots by holding the camera up afocally, even the little afocal plastic brackes fit, dso are usually too dim for the sensor to capture something meaningful

#3 Andresin150

Andresin150

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1490
  • Joined: 14 Aug 2007
  • Loc: Bogotá - La Calera / Colombia

Posted 22 November 2012 - 04:12 PM

I use a Celestron (many other available) camera adapter and place it in front of one ep and thats it, a cheap camera and great photos

The link where I posted about it more than a year ago...:
http://www.cloudynig...4537021/page...

Attached Files



#4 Andresin150

Andresin150

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1490
  • Joined: 14 Aug 2007
  • Loc: Bogotá - La Calera / Colombia

Posted 22 November 2012 - 04:15 PM

sky.... (orion...)

Attached Files



#5 Andresin150

Andresin150

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1490
  • Joined: 14 Aug 2007
  • Loc: Bogotá - La Calera / Colombia

Posted 22 November 2012 - 04:16 PM

Moon....

Attached Files



#6 Andresin150

Andresin150

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1490
  • Joined: 14 Aug 2007
  • Loc: Bogotá - La Calera / Colombia

Posted 22 November 2012 - 04:17 PM

planets... (Jupiter)

Attached Files



#7 Andresin150

Andresin150

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1490
  • Joined: 14 Aug 2007
  • Loc: Bogotá - La Calera / Colombia

Posted 22 November 2012 - 04:20 PM

and even made a short video of Saturn...

http://www.youtube.c...h?v=xIZWC-R2ymo


Of course, you need bright objects for doing this in the night sky... for daytime/terrestrial digiscoping, the possibilities are limitless...

#8 Goodchild

Goodchild

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 881
  • Joined: 31 Dec 2008

Posted 23 November 2012 - 06:47 PM

Andresin,

I like the video of Saturn. I was wondering, when the image goes out of focus was that due to atmospheric distortion or were you adjusting the focuser? Thanks.

#9 Andresin150

Andresin150

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1490
  • Joined: 14 Aug 2007
  • Loc: Bogotá - La Calera / Colombia

Posted 23 November 2012 - 09:12 PM

It is the autofocus feature in the camera. Cant controll it, and it is worse for DSOs because I guess the camera cant find anything bright enough to focus. The Moon is easy and steady though... So you may imagine that the most challenging image was Orion....

#10 Goodchild

Goodchild

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 881
  • Joined: 31 Dec 2008

Posted 23 November 2012 - 09:20 PM

Makes sense. Thanks.

#11 beachchairbill

beachchairbill

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1434
  • Joined: 06 Nov 2008

Posted 24 November 2012 - 07:59 AM

Andresin,

I like what you did her and the pictures came out great, h owever, I'm using a DSLR Camera with interchangeable lenses. I replace the lens with a T adapter and am able to seat the camera into the 1 1/4 holder but have not been able to figure out what replaces the eye piece for manifaction? Anyone have suggestions??

Beachchairbill

#12 Mark9473

Mark9473

    Cosmos

  • *****
  • Posts: 8604
  • Joined: 21 Jul 2005
  • Loc: 51°N 4°E

Posted 24 November 2012 - 08:30 AM

You wouldn't need an eyepiece; the objective lens of the binocular will act as a telephoto lens. The only question is whether you'll be able to get focus, and if the vignetting is reasonable (worse if it's a full frame).

#13 Andresin150

Andresin150

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1490
  • Joined: 14 Aug 2007
  • Loc: Bogotá - La Calera / Colombia

Posted 24 November 2012 - 09:24 AM

The binocular is the lens that gives the magnification. You'll see in your camera that the lens don't show a magnification number but a focal length (for example 55-200mm). Then, if your binocular is a 100mm F5, then it is like you are using a 500mm telephoto lens with it... No eyepiece needed.

#14 beachchairbill

beachchairbill

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1434
  • Joined: 06 Nov 2008

Posted 25 November 2012 - 01:58 PM

Hi A.

Thanks for the additional details and will give it a try when the skies clear here in the North East.

I have a 500MM lens for the Canon already and I will see which is better. I can also 2x it and bring it up to !000mm.

Has any one tried the Baader Hyperion 8-24mm Clickstop Zoom for taking pictures this way??

I also have a 50 inch long refractor which I have not tried as well and was wondaring if the same princple that is used?

Thanks

BB

#15 Mark9473

Mark9473

    Cosmos

  • *****
  • Posts: 8604
  • Joined: 21 Jul 2005
  • Loc: 51°N 4°E

Posted 25 November 2012 - 05:31 PM

If you have a 500mm telelens for your camera, that will normally be vastly superior to imaging through a binocular.

The long refractor, well that would depend on its aperture.

#16 stbehastx

stbehastx

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 33
  • Joined: 07 Oct 2012
  • Loc: Hawai'i, Pale Blue Dot

Posted 26 November 2012 - 03:18 AM

I know people who get pretty decent pics from attaching a web-cam to their scopes, would this also work out with binoculars and a web cam? Hadn't thought about astrophotos with binoculars, sounds interesting.

#17 Andresin150

Andresin150

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1490
  • Joined: 14 Aug 2007
  • Loc: Bogotá - La Calera / Colombia

Posted 26 November 2012 - 09:01 AM

but you'll need tracking and prolonging exposure, at least for DSO's, or the camera will not catch anything, simply too dim for point and shot...

#18 beachchairbill

beachchairbill

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1434
  • Joined: 06 Nov 2008

Posted 26 November 2012 - 01:46 PM

With the BT you can change ep's which will enable you to use one tube to take pictures. Regular bins not withthis set up.

BB

#19 beachchairbill

beachchairbill

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1434
  • Joined: 06 Nov 2008

Posted 26 November 2012 - 06:34 PM

Hi everyone,

My first test tonight failed. Unable to bring my BT to focus with my camera attached to one tube. Usaed a Bower T mount with a Celestron T Adapter - 1 1/4".

Interesting.

Will try the telescope next after the weather clears tomorrow.

Any suggestions.

Thanks

BB

Nuts

#20 Andresin150

Andresin150

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1490
  • Joined: 14 Aug 2007
  • Loc: Bogotá - La Calera / Colombia

Posted 26 November 2012 - 06:40 PM

The Docters have an M42 and M48 thread in the eyepiece, and with a T adapter it gives very good images for photography, but is to note that the eyepiece dont come out, the T adapter just holds the camera body centered with one side of the binoculars. I use a DSLR too with it.
I dont know how it works without the eyepiece...

#21 beachchairbill

beachchairbill

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1434
  • Joined: 06 Nov 2008

Posted 27 November 2012 - 03:10 PM

Hi A,

Not sure what you mean by The Docters have an M42 and M48 threaded in the eyepiece?

Does it mean that you can by a thread an eyepiece into the T adapter. Is so got a place where I can look this up on the net.

Thanks

BB

#22 Andresin150

Andresin150

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1490
  • Joined: 14 Aug 2007
  • Loc: Bogotá - La Calera / Colombia

Posted 27 November 2012 - 07:06 PM

BB, no, the oculars have a thread that is normally used to hold the rubber eye cup by a threaded ring.
If you remove it, then there is a "universal" M42 and M 48 thread (used by most Zeiss cameras and accessories) visible around the edge of the eyepiece.
You can buy a T adapter for your DSLR camera with that thread, I preferred M42 which is the outer one.
At this point, when you have attached the camera to the binoculars, the binoculars are still with all its lenses in place, just without the eyecup.
In the case of a BT, using a T adapter means a 1 1/4" end and the other end for the camera. If you remove the eyepiece and then insert the camera, then I don't know how it focus since that way the eyepiece is not installed contrary that in the Docters.
I'm certainly no expert, here should be lots of people really knowledgeable in digiscoping, I just tried it because I saw Piergiovanni doing it in in his 2010 Binomania review (and later consulted in the Docter web)
Go to the manuals on the 12.5mm UWA eyepiece and the binoculars..
http://www.docter-ge.../downloads.html

#23 beachchairbill

beachchairbill

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1434
  • Joined: 06 Nov 2008

Posted 29 November 2012 - 08:26 PM

Andresin,

Which ep have threads on the eyecup side of the ep??

Bill Shea

#24 Andresin150

Andresin150

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1490
  • Joined: 14 Aug 2007
  • Loc: Bogotá - La Calera / Colombia

Posted 30 November 2012 - 09:13 AM

Bill, the 12.5mm UWA Docter EP does..

#25 beachchairbill

beachchairbill

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1434
  • Joined: 06 Nov 2008

Posted 30 November 2012 - 05:29 PM

Andresin,

Thanks that's a start. Anyone else know of a brand tha has threads on the eyecup side of the ep.?

I coudl ask Harry Siebert to build one however I will wait for further suggestions.

BB






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics