Jump to content


Photo

Jupiter, C8, Neximage 5

  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 rg55

rg55

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 998
  • Joined: 02 Aug 2008
  • Loc: western US

Posted 23 November 2012 - 12:42 AM

Taken this evening. Will post more from the session. Seeing was better than average.

Attached Files



#2 rg55

rg55

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 998
  • Joined: 02 Aug 2008
  • Loc: western US

Posted 23 November 2012 - 11:44 AM

Region of lunar crater Archimedes from last night. Stitched in Microsoft ICE, Celestron C8, Neximage 5.

Attached Files



#3 rg55

rg55

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 998
  • Joined: 02 Aug 2008
  • Loc: western US

Posted 23 November 2012 - 03:29 PM

Another Jupiter with the same configuration.

Attached Files



#4 ToxMan

ToxMan

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Posts: 2766
  • Joined: 23 Jan 2011
  • Loc: Tucson, Arizona, USA

Posted 23 November 2012 - 09:44 PM

On the Jupiter images, trying lowering gain and frame rate to see if those lines disappear. Lunar shot is great.

#5 rg55

rg55

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 998
  • Joined: 02 Aug 2008
  • Loc: western US

Posted 23 November 2012 - 10:21 PM

Thanks, ToxMan. I think it must be in the capture process, and the gain/exposure combination is a good place to start investigating. I'll start varying the variables and see what happens.

#6 ToxMan

ToxMan

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Posts: 2766
  • Joined: 23 Jan 2011
  • Loc: Tucson, Arizona, USA

Posted 23 November 2012 - 11:23 PM

I hope it helps, Richard. Although I shoot mono, red channel filter produces the dimmest image on the CCD. So, I have to push the gain, or the video and final image are too dark and under-exposed. Push too hard, and the lines appear.

I don't know that it will solve your lines, but give it a go.

#7 sfugardi

sfugardi

    Gemini

  • -----
  • Posts: 3059
  • Joined: 30 Sep 2006
  • Loc: CT

Posted 24 November 2012 - 12:26 AM

Richard, The moon shot is excellent. I prefer the 2nd Jupiter if you can get rid of the diagonal noise. You can try taking a flat frame video next time and subtract in Registax. I've had mixed results with flats, but it may work for you. Thanks for posting

Regards,
Steve

#8 rg55

rg55

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 998
  • Joined: 02 Aug 2008
  • Loc: western US

Posted 24 November 2012 - 02:39 PM

Thanks, Steve. Here's another out of the same session.

Attached Files



#9 rg55

rg55

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 998
  • Joined: 02 Aug 2008
  • Loc: western US

Posted 01 December 2012 - 12:23 AM

Additional image out of the same session with variation in processing in Registax and Camera Raw. Still contending with artifacts from the camera, but I'm assured that my old C8 is still bringing in good images.

Attached Files



#10 Kokatha man

Kokatha man

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 6779
  • Joined: 13 Sep 2009
  • Loc: "cooker-ta man" downunda...

Posted 01 December 2012 - 04:54 AM

It'd be great if you could get rid of those horrific artefacts Richard - I've never seen anything on a par with them.....what camera are you using, and have you any idea what's causing them..?

#11 rg55

rg55

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 998
  • Joined: 02 Aug 2008
  • Loc: western US

Posted 01 December 2012 - 12:02 PM

Hi KM,
The camera is a Neximage 5. I'm not a DSO ap'er, so don't know much about darks or flats, but could that help?
Once I get out for another capture I'm going to experiment with gain/exposure more as well.
Thanks for reading!

#12 AlanL

AlanL

    Ranger 4

  • -----
  • Posts: 346
  • Joined: 11 Nov 2010
  • Loc: Kansas, USA

Posted 01 December 2012 - 12:24 PM

I've seen similar but less pronounced artifacts with my Powermate 5x when I get beyond about f30. I'm not sure they're processing artifacts in my case because they are faintly visible on the avi's. If I stack with AS instead of RS6 they aren't as visible in the final image.

Attached Files



#13 rg55

rg55

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 998
  • Joined: 02 Aug 2008
  • Loc: western US

Posted 01 December 2012 - 02:53 PM

Hi Alan,
Are the lines vertical in the initial video? They are in mine.
I suspect my problem is in my capture. My gain and exposure and their relationship to the histogram may need work.
Do you think the use of darks or flats would help?
I had hoped to move up to a 2.5x TV barlow for my captures, but it may be too dim to overcome these kinds of problems. We'll see.
Thanks for reading and your comments.

#14 AlanL

AlanL

    Ranger 4

  • -----
  • Posts: 346
  • Joined: 11 Nov 2010
  • Loc: Kansas, USA

Posted 01 December 2012 - 03:04 PM

Lines are about the same angle in the avi's as this photo. Some captures have no sign of them, but most captures with the PM have a little. I've tried different exposure and gain settings, but it doesn't seem sensitive to those. Haven't tried darks or flats, but that would be an interesting experiment. I only use 5x PM when seeing is very good, which doesn't happen very often in my area.

It doesn't show up at all at my more normal f30 captures with a 2x TV barlow.

#15 rg55

rg55

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 998
  • Joined: 02 Aug 2008
  • Loc: western US

Posted 01 December 2012 - 03:08 PM

Do they show up in one channel more than another? I'm using a OSC, so hard to tease them apart.






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics