• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 frogwise

frogwise

Lift Off

• -----

Posted 23 November 2012 - 02:56 AM

Hey everyone.

First time poster here. I live in Vancouver Canada, and I recently purchased a EQ 3 Skywatcher package with the 80 ED scope. I'm a Nikon photographer and have the new D600.

I'm planning to do some astro photography of deep sky objects, but have a few questions, and am looking for tips. I'm wondering if anyone has a similar setup - refractor plus a full frame Nikon camera.

Are field flatteners/coma correctors worth getting? If so, which brand?

Do you guys have any problems with vignetting, even using 2 inch adapters? Do you use extension tubes?

Any recommendations on which t-adapters to use to make sure they dont vignette the full frame sensor?

What is a good light pollution filter to use with DSLR cameras? Particularly for deep sky objects like Andromeda and nebulas.

I had more questions but can't remember right now. Excited for the first clear night since I got my scope and mount last week! Hopefully I can get everything I need and get setup before then!

#2 mmalik

mmalik

DSLR camera modifications

• Vendors
  • Loc: USA

Posted 23 November 2012 - 03:31 AM

Are field flatteners/coma correctors worth getting? If so, which brand?

Do you guys have any problems with vignetting, even using 2 inch adapters? Do you use extension tubes?

Any recommendations on which t-adapters to use to make sure they don’t vignette the full frame sensor?

What is a good light pollution filter to use with DSLR cameras? Particularly for deep sky objects like Andromeda and nebulas.

I use Canon 60Da so my answers are based on this setup:

-For the start, try without any FFs/CCs
-I don’t get vignetting with 2” adapter; although flats are best to get a flat field. Extension tubes are only needed if you can’t attain focus; first try/test without.