Photo

Color in Orion

• Please log in to reply
62 replies to this topic

#1 Atl

Atl

Viking 1

Posted 23 November 2012 - 06:35 AM

I am new to observing. I was out tonight with my 12" Dob. Normally Orion is a colorless fan shaped cloud. Tonight after a few hours viewing I went to Orion. In the center was cobalt blue, and the edges of the fan were very pink. I had my wife look at it but she saw no color. Every time I looked the color was unmistakable. Is this my imagination? Why couldn't my wife see it? I also noticed more detail than any other viewings, and it seemed larger.

#2 edwincjones

edwincjones

Close Enough

Posted 23 November 2012 - 07:01 AM

I have seen, in a 36", magnificent dark reds that look like cotton candy;
but no color in smaller scopes

edj

#3 Tapio

Tapio

Apollo

• -----
  • Loc: Tampere, Finland

Posted 23 November 2012 - 07:20 AM

Lucky you if you saw color.
Your wife probably didn't have dark adapted eyes like you.

#4 bigstormgirl

bigstormgirl

Vostok 1

• -----
  • Loc: NW Indiana

Posted 23 November 2012 - 07:20 AM

You mentioned you were out for a few hours viewing. I'm sure your eyes were very well adapted to the dark, and if the seeing conditions were good, you did see color. Was your wife out with you all night too? If she wasn't, her eyes may have not been adapted when she looked through the eyepiece.

#5 Achernar

Achernar

Cosmos

• Loc: Mobile, Alabama, USA

Posted 23 November 2012 - 07:59 AM