14 replies to this topic

#1 BuckW

BuckW

Lift Off

• -----

Posted 26 November 2012 - 06:01 PM

Hello all,
I am new to this so be gentle :help:
I have not been able to get a successful align yet and I think the problem is the clock setting. I set the clock initially and thought that was it but it appears the clock is not running when the scope is powered off ( I figured it would be like a laptop but maybe not so ). I did a custom site with our backyard lat/Lon per GPS and it saved all the settings but, later, the clock is still at the initial setting. I thought it was because I had no batteries in the base so I installed 8AA's but same thing seems to be the case.

One more quick question to display my ignorance - when I go to "View Time-Site" there is one line listed as LST and a time - initially I thought this was the Zulu time but it does not seem to fit - so .... ???

Thanks so much for your time.

#2 Tel

Tel

Cosmos

• Loc: Wallingford England

Posted 26 November 2012 - 06:14 PM

Hi BuckW,

Firstly a very warm welcome to CN and to this forum ! :bow: :bow:

Quite simply, time entries are not retained by this 'scope.

In other words, you have to input your local time, related to your Time Zone, (the latter which incidentally the 'scope will retain), each time you set it up for an observing session.

Onto your second question, I would assume LST means Local Standard Time.

Hoping this helps,

Best regards,
Tel

#3 BuckW

BuckW

Lift Off

• -----

Posted 26 November 2012 - 06:27 PM

Thank you Tel --
I believe you have verified the conclusion I was slowly coming to - no real timeclock. I guess in this day and age I just assumed -

On the LST - the delta between what I set as local and the LST reading is like 4 to 5 hours - I'm sure there is a operator error going on here.

Anyhow, Thanks a lot for your response and time.

#4 Tel

Tel

Cosmos

Posted 26 November 2012 - 06:42 PM