• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 DavidP

DavidP

Sputnik

• Loc: SF Bay Area, CA

Posted 27 November 2012 - 03:44 AM

Hi,
my DSI is broken :bawling: and I would need some help to identify the missing parts to get it up to work again :crazy:

The USB Connector went too far into the DSI and scraped off a few SMDs from the circuit board. The missing parts (I could not find them....) are between the USB Connector and the USB Microcontroller (Cypres CY7C68013-56PVC) and are labeled on the circuit board with:

R36, L2, C5, C8, C9 & C10

I'm not an expert in electronics but I guess I'm good enough to get the parts soldered back on if I get them identified/ordered.

Anyone out there who could help me to identify the values of the missing parts (resistor, capacitator and L???) either from measuring on their DSI or knowing about electronics?

Thanks, David

Attached Files

#2 DavidP

DavidP

Sputnik

Posted 27 November 2012 - 03:59 AM

Maybe one more information:
The missing parts are going to the following pins on the microcontroller (description taken from the datasheet of the mc):
Label - Pin - Description

R36 - Pin5 - CLKOUT
C9 - Pin6 - VCC
L2 & C10 - Pin10 - AVCC
C8 - Pin14 - VCC
C5 - Pin18 - VCC

The datasheet is to big to attach it here but it can be found i.e. here

#3 Geo.

Geo.

Mercury-Atlas

• Loc: Upstate NY

Posted 27 November 2012 - 10:03 PM

Problem with the small SMD caps is that they aren't marked. At the the factory the robot grabs them from the tape and places them on the PCB. I have a good Fluke DMM, but I usually can't get an accurate reading on them, range doesn't go down that far. I'd go to the Electronic Goldmine and get some "Gold Paks" of SMD caps and resistors.

"We don’t take the time to sort this 100% prime material as it comes in. We just place it in 55 gal drums. Over 1,000 pieces [fit] in a 2" x 3" zip close bag!"

Paks start at $2.50. I only see one SMD inductor, but at $0.21 what the heck.