Jump to content


Photo

hi how can I make software skyscout work win7 64

  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Lukasz Tarkowski

Lukasz Tarkowski

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 225
  • Joined: 09 Mar 2011

Posted 27 November 2012 - 06:22 PM

hi how can I make software skyscout work win7 64 home, I am thinking of buying but need the software to work.

Do I need to upgrade firmware?

#2 panhard

panhard

    It's All Good

  • *****
  • Moderators
  • Posts: 13669
  • Joined: 20 Jan 2008
  • Loc: Markham Ontario Canada

Posted 28 November 2012 - 11:36 AM

Follow the link scroll down to knowledge base. Look at #4. I hope that works for you.link

#3 Lukasz Tarkowski

Lukasz Tarkowski

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 225
  • Joined: 09 Mar 2011

Posted 28 November 2012 - 06:12 PM

I might have to install Windows 32 bit and du dualboot Windows 7 64 bit with Windows 7 32 bit. Is it safe to upgrade the firmware on Celestron Skyscout?

#4 panhard

panhard

    It's All Good

  • *****
  • Moderators
  • Posts: 13669
  • Joined: 20 Jan 2008
  • Loc: Markham Ontario Canada

Posted 29 November 2012 - 10:37 AM

That I can't tell you.

#5 Lukasz Tarkowski

Lukasz Tarkowski

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 225
  • Joined: 09 Mar 2011

Posted 30 November 2012 - 02:39 PM

I did dual boot Windows 64 bit and Widows 7 32 bit.
Now the program works on my Windows 7 32 bit partition.


If only I knew that it was safe to upgrade skyscout. I might have to look for info myself

#6 Lukasz Tarkowski

Lukasz Tarkowski

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 225
  • Joined: 09 Mar 2011

Posted 01 December 2012 - 12:26 PM

Where can I get celestron skyscout the cheapest, county Canada.

#7 Ibmelrod

Ibmelrod

    Ranger 4

  • -----
  • Posts: 341
  • Joined: 18 Oct 2004
  • Loc: Ontario Canada

Posted 01 December 2012 - 11:58 PM

[Where can I get celestron skyscout the cheapest, county Canada. ]

Try Canadian Tire. I got mine for $100 earlier this year.

#8 rmollise

rmollise

    Hubble

  • *****
  • Posts: 15769
  • Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Posted 04 December 2012 - 02:21 PM

Celestron has not upgraded the SkyScout firmware in years, so it's unlikely you'll need to fool with it...

#9 Atl

Atl

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 501
  • Joined: 13 Apr 2012

Posted 12 December 2012 - 09:41 AM

"hi how can I make software skyscout work win7 64 home"

Download the XP mode for windows 7. It is free from Microsoft. It works great.

#10 Lukasz Tarkowski

Lukasz Tarkowski

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 225
  • Joined: 09 Mar 2011

Posted 12 December 2012 - 12:22 PM

I installed Windows 7 32 bit, program works now

#11 BoriSpider

BoriSpider

    Vanguard

  • -----
  • Posts: 2185
  • Joined: 10 Aug 2004
  • Loc: S.W.FLA

Posted 08 January 2013 - 10:42 AM

For me, to actually update the firmware I had to use a family
members XP machine to update. The software had no problems
working on my Vista machine. I think it was the drivers that
were the issue.

#12 Atl

Atl

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 501
  • Joined: 13 Apr 2012

Posted 27 January 2013 - 01:18 PM

It seems to work in x64 Windows 8.






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics