Jump to content


Photo

ra..dec

  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Jim_Smith

Jim_Smith

    Vostok 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 126
  • Joined: 16 Nov 2012

Posted 30 November 2012 - 10:01 PM

Please no smirks ..cam you enter ra and dec positions with two star align? :rainbow:

#2 Tel

Tel

    Cosmos

  • *****
  • Posts: 9113
  • Joined: 31 Mar 2006
  • Loc: Wallingford England

Posted 01 December 2012 - 04:24 AM

Hi Jim,

No smirks at all ! A perfectly reasonable question ! You can't swap the two stars you choose to make a Two Star Align and enter their respective RA and Dec instead, but you can input the RA and Dec of any object or any portion of the sky after you have successfully aligned your 'scope. (I assume it is a Nexstar) ? :idea:

This, if you're not aware already, can be done by pressing the "Menu" button and then the "6" or "9" button to scroll to "Goto RA-Dec". Then press "Enter" and you will be invited to input the RA co-ordinate you require. Once entered, press the "Enter" button again to input the Dec co-ordinate. Again, once entered, (and with Dec entries don't forget to have pre-selected - or +), just hit the "Enter" button to send your 'scope to the your desired co-ordinates.

Best regards,
Tel

#3 Greyhaven

Greyhaven

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Moderators
  • Posts: 1875
  • Joined: 11 May 2004
  • Loc: 16 miles south of the Buckfield Mall

Posted 02 December 2012 - 10:50 AM

I guess the more you read the more you learn. That's a nice bit of info to have tucked into our astro kit.
I'm sure I'll be using it.As always thanks and
Be Well
Grey

#4 Jim_Smith

Jim_Smith

    Vostok 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 126
  • Joined: 16 Nov 2012

Posted 02 December 2012 - 05:30 PM

Great onfo ...thanks Jim






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics