4.5" American Optical lens

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 StarmanDan

StarmanDan

Soyuz

• Loc: Deep in the heart of Texas

Posted 02 December 2012 - 02:25 PM

I have a 4.5" lens apparently made by American Optical. I'm assuming the 22 inches is the focal length. I've hand held an eyepiece up to it and this appears to be accurate. The lens is quite heavy and in it's own cell. The cell is threaded on the inside on one end but there is a single rivet that prevents using it without drilling out the rivet. I don't remember how I acquired this or what type of lens it is or what it's purpose was in it's past life but I figured it would make a nice lens for a rich field refractor. Has anyone used this type of lens before and how good is it? I've never built a refractor before and am unsure where to start. I figured the easiest thing to do was to gently drill out the rivet and seeing if I can find a machine shop to fabricate a tube of the right length with the correct threads that would match the lens cell. But that could get quite pricy. I really don't want to have to disassemble the lens to try to make my own cell. Any suggestions on where to start? Pics of the lens below:

Attached Files

#2 StarmanDan

StarmanDan

Soyuz

• Loc: Deep in the heart of Texas

Posted 02 December 2012 - 02:33 PM

And another:

Attached Files

#3 orlyandico

orlyandico

Fly Me to the Moon

• Loc: Singapore

Posted 02 December 2012 - 07:17 PM

Looks like a projection lens of some sort...

Threading a pipe could be costly. Why not find a sonotube of the right diameter or a rolled hastings pipe and put that it? You could friction fit it or drill and tap a few holes in the lens cell.

#4 Conrad1

Conrad1

Lift Off

• -----

Posted 02 December 2012 - 07:49 PM