• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 obewan1

obewan1

Lift Off

• -----
  • Loc: Hudson, NH, USA

Posted 02 December 2012 - 06:48 PM

howdy - After doing some research I've decided on the Mewlon versus the HD11 do to what appears to be better cooldown/dew control and more "apo" like views. Also, I'm only interested in planets, globs/clusters, and bright deep space objects. I don't have access to good dark skys (live in southern New Hampshire) and I'm visual only, no AP. My background is I'm just getting back into astronomy after a long absence and I'm in my midlife crisis :smirk: I have the oppourtunity at this moment to purchase what I would consider my dream scope(s). Looking at a 4" fast refractor also for wideviews. My Mewlon questions are: What are your favorite eyepieces to use? Is the 1.6x extender worth purchasing or go with a Televue powermate? What mount do you recommend? I like the T-Rex w/Argo Navis but am thinking for higher mag viewing a german mount or perhaps the Ioptron Pro what be better? The mount must be steady/rock solid, hardly any vibration. I know the Ioptron for the 210 is OK and I like the conveniece of Alt/Az but for the 250 I'm thinking german may be my only choice. I'm probably going for the 250. Like I said, this is my time.... :jump:

#2 obewan1

obewan1

Lift Off

• -----

Posted 02 December 2012 - 06:54 PM

Forgot to mention one thing,,, the Tak mounts are probably more than I can afford at this time. I may be in midlife crisis but still somewhat in control of my senses!

#3 Mark9473

Mark9473

Cosmos

• Loc: 51°N 4°E

Posted 03 December 2012 - 07:24 AM

My Mewlon 210 is rock solid on a DM-6 mount. As the 250 isn't that much heavier I'd be surprised if that doesn't work well too.

With the very long focal length I'm a bit curious what you think you need a barlow lens for?

#4 Edwin

Edwin

Explorer 1

• -----
  • Loc: The Netherlands

Posted 03 December 2012 - 09:20 AM