6" F6 or F8

• Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 Nebulae

Nebulae

Sputnik

• -----

Posted 03 December 2012 - 11:50 AM

Hello everyone i am new to CN and am happy to be a part of this wonderful forum. I will rate 10/10. :cool: :jump:

Since 2 years i am using 4.5" F8, home made Newtonian telescope and i am fairly satisfied with its viewing, to see better viewing i am thinking to move to 6" home made Newtonian.

So please coach me in choosing correct focal length. Which one should i choose F6 or F8. It should be such way that i can see planets in details as well as Nebulae, double-star,galaxy and many more.

Can you tell me what can i see in details in 6" mirror?

Your help will be appreciated. :bow:

#2 bremms

bremms

Mercury-Atlas

• Loc: SC

Posted 03 December 2012 - 12:11 PM

Other than tube length and weight, F8 is better for visual use. Less critical of eyepieces and alignment. F8 seems to be a nice sweet spot for compromise planetary/ Deep sky. I prefer F8 to F6 in a 6" scope. 40mm eyepiece gives you a 5mm exit pupil which is pretty much optimal for low power viewing.
F6 is still not too fast in such a small scope.

Personally I would go to an 8" F6. It is a much larger step up than a 6" which is not a big step from a good 4.5. 8"f6 is good at a lot of things and won't cost too much more than a 6" F8.

#3 Jeff Morgan

Jeff Morgan

Fly Me to the Moon

• Loc: Prescott, AZ

Posted 03 December 2012 - 12:22 PM

There are a lot of factors to consider but in the end it all boils down to personal choice. Personally, I would go longer rather than shorter.

#4 bremms

bremms

Mercury-Atlas

• Loc: SC

Posted 03 December 2012 - 12:51 PM

Here you go...
http://www.cloudynig...ct=70052&sor...

#5 Mark Harry

Mark Harry

Vendor

• Vendors
  • Loc: Northeast USA

Posted 03 December 2012 - 01:50 PM