Fun with doubles and Questions on Light Pollution

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 BigMatt

BigMatt

Lift Off

• -----

Posted 03 December 2012 - 10:30 PM

Hi guys I'm new to this, but I'm quickly becoming fascinated with double stars. I'm having a lot of fun working on a few I've found here in the forums, or just pointing my Nexstar 8se at a random spot and finding the closest doubles it can find with the identify feature. (By the way, I find identify to be a really cool feature for learning the sky even with a goto, just point and find out some nearby objects to learn more about and see.) Soon I think I'll settle down to a somewhat more methodical approach, but I haven't even had my scope a week yet. I was tantalizingly close to seeing A and B in Zeta Cancri last night, but every time it started to look notched, it would blur up again, I think looking over my house probably hurt the seeing.

Two quick, probably answered, but not that I could find questions. First, I'd guess light pollution doesn't hurt double splitting a bunch as long as the components aren't particularly faint, is that accurate?

Second, when in focus, I never see any rings around stars, just the central visual disk of the airy pattern, but most of the pictures of doubles appear to have it. I had a couple of ideas, namely that either my light pollution is washing that ring out (I'm solidly in the white area of the D/FW metroplex on the maps) or that the rings show up more clearly in pictures with their increased light gathering. I'm hoping it's one of those things and not something I'm doing wrong.

Matt

PS This is fantastically helpful for understanding what everyone's talking about, http://www.cloudynig.../resolution.pdf thanks Ed.

#2 Cotts

Cotts

Just Wondering

• Loc: Toronto, Ontario

Posted 03 December 2012 - 10:41 PM