Decided to Stick With LX-80

• Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1 Jmax

Jmax

Viking 1

• Loc: Alabama

Posted 05 December 2012 - 10:22 AM

I had been on the waiting list since Spring, when the price increase was announced. Well, last week I got a call that my LX-80 was in and asking if I still wanted it. I've read bunches over the months, including most of the negative things said here and most of the positive things said on AF. I was torn and spent all weekend thinking about things. I also happened to get a new Orion catalog with the new Atlas convertible mount. But with my LX-80 costing 1/3 of the the price of the new Atlas, that pretty much made my decision for me.

I'm not a first class imager. In fact, I'm a total beginner, but the problem with improving my skills has always been lack of time to devote to imaging. Therefore, everything I have been purchasing has been with the goal of making it easier to take pictures.

That said, I am going to put my LX-80 inside my new Skyshed POD and get it aligned good, so I don't have to do that each time out. Then I am going to put my three imaging scopes on it. They aren't huge, and this is how I plan to do this. I have a dual saddle mount which, on one side I will put my AT6RC. On the other, I will mount my f/5 5" Newtonian with my 66mm refractor piggybacked as a guide scope. These two together are pretty much identical in weight to the AT6RC, so that should make balancing pretty simple. Altogether, the three scopes weigh just over 25 lbs. Counting my camera and guider, the weight should be no more than 30lbs. I think it is doable, and I will have three scopes ready to go at all times, when I am able to get the opportunity to image.

We'll see how it goes, but I am doing all this so I can take pictures. That is what I plan to do, so as soon as I get the mount, you WILL be seeing some results posted.