cave setting circles

• Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#1 chuck52

chuck52

Mariner 2

• Loc: Quartz Hill,California

Posted 08 December 2012 - 07:09 PM

I have a basic question.What is the difference if any between a magnusson setting circle and a cave setting circle? I have read about Magnusson circles in this forum before and was just curious as to the visual difference? Did Magnusson maybe supply Cave with setting circles during a certain time or were they an extra cost option?

#2 dgreyson

dgreyson

Viking 1

• Loc: South Carolina

Posted 08 December 2012 - 07:53 PM

I am no expert, but: Apparently Cave bought out Magnusson according to the Cave Astrola catalog I have. In my catalog, Magnusson setting circles are polished aluminum with black engraving on the numerals. I know some earlier caves have Brass circles and some later ones have black painted circles. My 12.5 Astrola has Magnusson Circles, although some idiot had used one to back up his hand drill at some time in the past. Lots of pits and one hole all the way through. I will likely grind them smooth and cut an aluminum circle out of some aluminum sheet to bond over the damage to hide it. Would be a lot less glaring than leaving the swiss cheese look it has going.

You could buy magnusson setting circles in several sizes from the Cave catalog if building your own Scope.

Attached Files

#3 Datapanic

Datapanic

Gemini

• Loc: Tucson, Arizona

Posted 08 December 2012 - 09:12 PM

There are slight visual differences - as you can see in this photo...

Attached Files

#4 John Higbee

John Higbee

Mariner 2

• Loc: Virginia

Posted 08 December 2012 - 09:25 PM

Dan - are there any current sources for aluminum or brass setting circles? The bakelite circles on my Cave 12.5 are not in the best shape (the declination circle has a big chip out of it), and I'd like to upgrade if there are sources.

John

#5 chuck52

chuck52

Mariner 2

• Loc: Quartz Hill,California