Jump to content


Photo

Celestron CG-5 Cord Problem

  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 tomnjulie

tomnjulie

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 24
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2012
  • Loc: Texas

Posted 08 December 2012 - 08:44 PM

I just received a new Clestron CG-5. The only problem so far is the power cord does not screw onto the telescope recepticle. It plugs in but does not secure itself. Anyone else seen this? Any ideas.

#2 RTLR 12

RTLR 12

    Aurora

  • *****
  • Posts: 4558
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2008
  • Loc: The Great Pacific NorthWest

Posted 08 December 2012 - 09:16 PM

The power cord that comes with the CG-5 is designed to fit the CGEM. It does NOT screw onto the CG-5 socket. I have replaced all of my Celestron power cords with these from Radio Shack.

Stan

http://www.radioshac...oductId=3889594

Stan

#3 skywolf856

skywolf856

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 297
  • Joined: 25 Jan 2008
  • Loc: SE Michigan

Posted 08 December 2012 - 11:55 PM

+1 for the radioshack cord.

#4 rockethead26

rockethead26

    Gemini

  • *****
  • Posts: 3315
  • Joined: 21 Oct 2009
  • Loc: Arizona, USA

Posted 09 December 2012 - 08:43 AM

+2

#5 fuzzystuff4ever

fuzzystuff4ever

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 44
  • Joined: 26 Nov 2012
  • Loc: Micco, FL

Posted 09 December 2012 - 08:45 AM

Does the Radio Shack cord plug in just like the standard one? I've never had it disconnect; it plugs in pretty securely.

#6 rflinn68

rflinn68

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Moderators
  • Posts: 2755
  • Joined: 09 Mar 2012
  • Loc: Arkansas

Posted 09 December 2012 - 09:19 AM

Does the Radio Shack cord plug in just like the standard one? I've never had it disconnect; it plugs in pretty securely.


Lucky you...Mine has lost connection a few times, usually right after I have done a very careful alignment. I will be looking into these Radio Shack cords if they plug in more securely than my factory one. I think they would have to. One trick is to get a very small screwdriver or the like and spread the tabs that the cord connects to. It worked for me but was only temporary. I hope these Radio Shack cords will end my problem because this is the only thing I have against my CG5. Then I will also have an extra power cord for my CGEM DX. :grin:

#7 fuzzystuff4ever

fuzzystuff4ever

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 44
  • Joined: 26 Nov 2012
  • Loc: Micco, FL

Posted 09 December 2012 - 09:42 AM

Does yours have the right-angle connector? The long cord is kind of annoying sometimes, although was useful when a club member's LX200GPS about 15ft. away had his generator konk out; I dragged my battery over near his scope so he could plug in (he had one of those short coiled cords).

#8 RTLR 12

RTLR 12

    Aurora

  • *****
  • Posts: 4558
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2008
  • Loc: The Great Pacific NorthWest

Posted 09 December 2012 - 10:13 AM

I have never had a problem with the Radio Shack cords on my 5 Celestron mounts. The 90ยบ connector has never come out of the socket.

Stan

Attached Files



#9 tomnjulie

tomnjulie

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 24
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2012
  • Loc: Texas

Posted 11 December 2012 - 11:35 PM

The radio shack cord works like a charm. It was a great solution. Thanks.






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics