When star hopping gets annoying...

• Please log in to reply
58 replies to this topic

#1 Javier1978

Javier1978

Viking 1

• -----

Posted 11 December 2012 - 04:22 PM

I have always considered myself in the star hopping side. I have been observing for four years now and finding a lot of objects with my dob became a second nature and I enjoy it a lot.

But last saturday I went to my dark observing site after months of cloudy new moons (or close to that). I was looking forward to find some new targets, but I got lost with my charts and that became very dissapointing, thinking about all the time of pure observation I was losing. I admit I didn´t do my homework for those targets in my regular roof observation, wich I usually do before going to a dark site.

Anyway, for the very first time I understood how useful a goto mount can be.

#2 ensign

ensign

Viking 1

• -----
  • Loc: Southwestern Ontario

Posted 11 December 2012 - 04:28 PM

Or you could just do your homework . . . :tonofbricks:

#3 rdandrea

rdandrea

Mercury-Atlas

• Loc: Colorado, USA DM59ra

Posted 11 December 2012 - 04:34 PM

Nothing wrong with GoTo. This is a hobby. Do it in a way that gives you the most enjoyment. You don't need to prove anything to anyone.

#4 Javier1978

Javier1978

Viking 1

• -----

Posted 11 December 2012 - 04:42 PM

Of course, I just love the simplicity of my dob. Besides, I´m not planning new investments for the hobby at the moment

I´ll do my homework though.

#5 Astrojensen

Astrojensen

Fly Me to the Moon

• Loc: Bornholm, Denmark

Posted 11 December 2012 - 05:16 PM

last saturday I went to my dark observing site after months of cloudy new moons (or close to that). I was looking forward to find some new targets, but I got lost with my charts and that became very dissapointing, thinking about all the time of pure observation I was losing.