11 replies to this topic

#1 nobbygon

nobbygon

Vostok 1

• -----
  • Loc: Australia

Posted 12 December 2012 - 07:41 PM

Hi,

I've recently pier mounted my NEQ6 and last night finished my polar alignment so that the star wouldn't move over 10 mins. I've never tried PEC before so decided to give it a go. My results are attached. I captured the data on a DSI II Pro and an Orion short tube 80 (FL 400mm)using PHD. Shot on a star on the meridian near the equator.

I can’t believe that my PE is only +9 -12 arcsecs. I was expecting more like +- 30. What could I have done to get incorrect data that would show a PE less than what it really is? Could it be that the scope that I shot the data through has a focal length that is too short?

I wanted to see how my guiding was going and to my surprise I've never seen it as good as this before. OSC index of 0.19 and RMS of 0.12. I've never seen numbers that good before. Maybe it’s down to a really accurate polar alignment. Any thought here?

Cheers for any help,
Angus.

Attached Files

#2 nobbygon

nobbygon

Vostok 1

• -----

Posted 12 December 2012 - 07:42 PM

And the guiding graph

Attached Files

#3 orlyandico

orlyandico

Fly Me to the Moon

• Loc: Singapore

Posted 12 December 2012 - 09:35 PM

+10 / -12 is a very good figure. It is possible to get an NEQ6 with that level of precision.

The only reasons I can see for mis-reporting of this figure is (1) not factoring in the declination when importing the PHD log into PECPrep; (2) incorrect pixel size when importing the PHD log; for example the Meade DSI has 9.6 x 7.5 um pixels. If the wrong axis gets chosen when calculating, your PE would be proportionately larger or smaller; and (3) incorrect focal length of the guide scope.

However, given your data (400mm FL and DSI Pro II) that's an image scale of 4.27" per pixel. RMS of 0.12 means you are guiding at (4.27 * 0.12) = 0.51" ! that is an amazing figure, comparable to a Mach1.