• Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1 Scout92

Scout92

Sputnik

• -----
  • Loc: Hoquiam, WA.

Posted 13 December 2012 - 06:00 AM

Well I got in my first first light tonight, with my 4.5 newt, not sure what I was looking at just pointed the scope at Orion for a bit and then to a star (?) above and to the right a bit of Orion (only constillation other than the dippers I can clearly identify for now :o) it was very bright and looked to have three trailing stars. I think it was Aldebaran fromnlooking at the sky wheel but not sure about the trailing stars. Either way I am officially hooked! I need to learn how to work the EQ mount that's for sure but it willnbe fun doing so! Sad that I waited so long to get started but I'm here now! Clears skies everyone!

#2 CJK

CJK

Viking 1

• -----
  • Loc: Northeast TN

Posted 13 December 2012 - 06:53 AM

Congratulations! Like you, I am still learning my way around the sky, and nothing is particularly obvious to me yet. A good target in Orion is the Great Nebula at the bottom of his sword: it's bright and easy to find, and it gave me a real feeling of accomplishment (and awe) when I was able to find it in my binoculars.

-- Chris

#3 Scout92

Scout92

Sputnik

• -----

Posted 13 December 2012 - 07:19 AM

I tried to find that nebula however we we had a low ground fog so all I see was up high. Hoping for some more clear weather in the coming week.

#4 Dave74

Dave74

Mariner 2

• Loc: Gelatinous, MA

Posted 13 December 2012 - 07:21 AM

Congrats!

That was probably Jupiter you were looking at. And the trailing stars were moons.

#5 CJK

CJK

Viking 1

• -----

Posted 13 December 2012 - 08:23 AM