Photo

Sky Safari + Android for "push to like" assist?

• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 StarCurious

StarCurious

Explorer 1

• Loc: York Region, Ontario

Posted 24 December 2012 - 10:36 PM

I am a complete newbie researching into my first telescope purchase. I purchased Sky Safari Plus Android to learn the sky and discovered that after selecting an object, pressing the Compass button, then Center button, Sky Safari Plus displays an arrow towards the target. This seems to work even when the field is smaller than 1 degree. Has anyone tried to mount a tablet (or smartphone) on a telescope, and use this feature to guide which direction to push - especially for a Dobsonian telescope? I have checked all boxes under Settings, Display (including Telrad). Thanks in advance

#2 Lane

Lane

Soyuz

• -----
  • Loc: Frisco, Texas

Posted 24 December 2012 - 11:31 PM

That will work on both Goto and Pushto mounts. It does require the skyfi wifi unit be connected to you hand controller and you will connect your tablet to that wifi. Make sure the RA/DEC are the same values in Sky Safari and your mount's hand controller and remember that you still have to do the initial alignment with you hand controller. After that you can just move the scope and watch the cross hairs in sky safari to find objects.

#3 StarCurious

StarCurious

Explorer 1

Posted 24 December 2012 - 11:55 PM

Thanks, Lane. I am sorry I did not ask the question properly.

What I really meant was if I don't have pushto or goto telescope, can I rely on the Pointer Display for guidance to manually push my OTA towards a target - assuming I have a tablet mounted firmly and aligned with the OTA.

I haven't bought my first telescope yet. It seems to me I don't need Azimuth, Altitude setting circles (nor RA, DEC for equatorial) at all since the only axis that matters ultimately is the OTA itself, pointing at the object.