Jump to content


Photo

C14 mount

  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 Petrus351

Petrus351

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 292
  • Joined: 17 Dec 2012
  • Loc: Spain

Posted 27 December 2012 - 04:38 PM

Hello everyone:
I´m thinking on buying a C14 only for planetary imaging and visual (not Deep Sky imaging), but I have some doubts about mounts. I have a house about 130 miles away from my usual home location, and my intention is to transport it at least once a month, because seeing is usually very good there. I was thiking about a Losmandy G11 with Gemini 2 goto, or CGE-PRO, but I find the latter one to be very tall, and I´m not sure, if I´m going to be able to place the ota on the mount. My salesman, says that the G11 is not sturdy enough for the C14, even for planetary imaging.
Aside from this, a friend of mine says that that Gemini 2 goto sytem, doesn´t work correctly.
I would like to listen to tour opinions, please.

#2 skybsd

skybsd

    Skylab

  • *****
  • Posts: 4281
  • Joined: 01 Feb 2008

Posted 27 December 2012 - 05:26 PM

Hello,
You may want state your budget to assist folks who may wish to offer appropriate guidance..,

Best..,

Regards,

skybsd

#3 rmollise

rmollise

    Hubble

  • *****
  • Posts: 15404
  • Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Posted 27 December 2012 - 05:32 PM

The answer is that the G11 will be fine for planetary imaging--on a calm night. On a windy evening at high magnification with a big sail of a dewshield on? Uh-uh. People have done good work, both on the planets and the deep sky with the 14 - G11 combo, but it will have some limitations.

#4 Petrus351

Petrus351

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 292
  • Joined: 17 Dec 2012
  • Loc: Spain

Posted 27 December 2012 - 05:44 PM

Thank you for your responses. I´m thinking on buying the CGE-PRO, but I would like to know, if it´s very tall?

#5 skybsd

skybsd

    Skylab

  • *****
  • Posts: 4281
  • Joined: 01 Feb 2008

Posted 27 December 2012 - 05:52 PM

Thank you for your responses. I´m thinking on buying the CGE-PRO, but I would like to know, if it´s very tall?


This has been asked a few times here on CN - for example.., See Post-4 for an illustration that provides some perspective..,

Regards,

skybsd

#6 ZRX-Steve

ZRX-Steve

    Ranger 4

  • -----
  • Posts: 307
  • Joined: 31 Mar 2008
  • Loc: Phoenix, Arizona

Posted 27 December 2012 - 07:17 PM

Gnowellsct has a method of easily mounting the C14. I wouldn't be worried about it's size and weight at all. Here's a link to his youtube C14 mounting video.

Link to GNowellsct C14 Mounting Video

I'd go with a new CGE Pro. I'd be wary of the older used CGE Pro's. The newer ones have spring loaded worms with very low PE. Some of the early ones were suspect.

#7 A. Viegas

A. Viegas

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1047
  • Joined: 05 Mar 2012
  • Loc: New York City/ CT

Posted 27 December 2012 - 07:31 PM

What about the CGEM DX ? If all you are doing is visual, this mount seems capable of handling the C14. The benefit of the CGEM DX is not its not as heavy as the CGE Pro and its $2000 less also. I think you could probably put a Mallincam on the C14 or a planetary camera and get reasonably good use of the greater aperture. However, transporting the C14 and any of the already mentioned mounts is going to be a challenge, if you can why not set up something more permanent up at your remove viewing site... at the very least you could leave the tripod or a pier assuming you own the land.

Cheers,
Al

#8 rmollise

rmollise

    Hubble

  • *****
  • Posts: 15404
  • Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Posted 28 December 2012 - 08:50 AM

Thank you for your responses. I´m thinking on buying the CGE-PRO, but I would like to know, if it´s very tall?


Yes, it is quite tall. It's possible Greg N's system, which other posters have mentioned would still work, though.

#9 Sunspot

Sunspot

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5471
  • Joined: 15 Mar 2005
  • Loc: Surprise, AZ

Posted 28 December 2012 - 09:18 AM

It is quite tall...I have one and in fact 3 NBA teams have inquired about it's availability.

Thank you for your responses. I´m thinking on buying the CGE-PRO, but I would like to know, if it´s very tall?



#10 Dixie

Dixie

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 123
  • Joined: 30 Mar 2006
  • Loc: UK Latitude 53.3 north

Posted 28 December 2012 - 05:32 PM

I do planetary with a C14 on a CGE (old version) and it's fine. I think Damian Peach (world class planetary imager ) used (uses) a G11. The CGE Pro is way too tall for me. Perhaps the EQ8 is the answer when it is launched in March 2013.

#11 Geo.

Geo.

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Posts: 2773
  • Joined: 01 Oct 2008
  • Loc: Upstate NY

Posted 29 December 2012 - 01:56 PM

Poke around, there is a fix for the Meade Giant tripod that involved shortening the legs.

#12 Dixie

Dixie

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 123
  • Joined: 30 Mar 2006
  • Loc: UK Latitude 53.3 north

Posted 29 December 2012 - 05:17 PM

Can anyone enlighten me as to why Celestron made the CGE Pro tripod so tall at its lowest setting? Fine for refractor owners, but SCTS/Newts?????
Rich

#13 dobsoscope

dobsoscope

    Messenger

  • *****
  • Posts: 409
  • Joined: 24 May 2006

Posted 30 December 2012 - 02:57 AM

AFAIK Peach uses the predecessor of the CGE, the CI-700 mount which is basically a hybridised clone of the G11.

I do planetary with a C14 on a CGE (old version) and it's fine. I think Damian Peach (world class planetary imager ) used (uses) a G11. The CGE Pro is way too tall for me. Perhaps the EQ8 is the answer when it is launched in March 2013.



#14 andysea

andysea

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1442
  • Joined: 03 Sep 2010
  • Loc: Seattle, WA

Posted 30 December 2012 - 03:29 AM

Can you get a cge pro head only and then put it on a losmandy tripod? The losmandy tripod seems to be shorter.

#15 Petrus351

Petrus351

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 292
  • Joined: 17 Dec 2012
  • Loc: Spain

Posted 30 December 2012 - 06:05 AM

Tank you very much for your advises. I like the G11, because I don´t find it to be very bulky, while CGE PRO seems to be larger, isn´t it?
I have several mono and color cameras, as I´ve been doing planetary imaging for some years now. I usually do it, with a C9.25, that is a very good scope, but I want those extra inchs of aperture, in order to get better pictures.
Yes, the scope is only one of the limiting factors, being seeing the most important one. I remember Damian´s Saturn pictures, taken in Barbados with a C9.25 like mine. Yes, he uses a C14 now, and you can notice the difference.

#16 HCR32

HCR32

    Messenger

  • -----
  • Posts: 422
  • Joined: 27 Aug 2010
  • Loc: Australia

Posted 30 December 2012 - 07:23 AM

If the OTA is an old orange tube well forget the G11 option these ota are about 10kg heavier than the ones you buy today. Personally I would save my money for a serious mount that will accommidate any future upgrades.

#17 andysea

andysea

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1442
  • Joined: 03 Sep 2010
  • Loc: Seattle, WA

Posted 30 December 2012 - 12:04 PM

I bet that my njp can carry that. Those can be had used for a good price.

#18 orlyandico

orlyandico

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5283
  • Joined: 10 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Singapore

Posted 30 December 2012 - 01:01 PM

"good" = $4K at best, $4.5K to $5K more realistically.

a new CGE Pro is $5K and carries (a bit) more than the NJP.... but it weighs a good deal more.

i think a used CGE would be able to handle a C14.. for $2K.

#19 Petrus351

Petrus351

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 292
  • Joined: 17 Dec 2012
  • Loc: Spain

Posted 30 December 2012 - 04:59 PM

If the OTA is an old orange tube well forget the G11 option these ota are about 10kg heavier than the ones you buy today. Personally I would save my money for a serious mount that will accommidate any future upgrades.

It´s not a matter of money, but about CGE-PRO being too tall and bulky. I find G11 to be very low in it´s own tripod, and very easy to transport ¿Are there any other options?

#20 Petrus351

Petrus351

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 292
  • Joined: 17 Dec 2012
  • Loc: Spain

Posted 30 December 2012 - 05:00 PM

"good" = $4K at best, $4.5K to $5K more realistically.

a new CGE Pro is $5K and carries (a bit) more than the NJP.... but it weighs a good deal more.



i think a used CGE would be able to handle a C14.. for $2K.

But, is the older CGE still available in the market? Only second hand, I gess. Why The Hell, should a mount be designed as tall, as CGE PRO is?

#21 wz2

wz2

    Most Boring Astronomer...

  • -----
  • Posts: 267
  • Joined: 30 Jul 2010

Posted 30 December 2012 - 05:19 PM

How about a Losmandy Titan? It might break your budget but it will certainly handle that scope.

Chris

#22 orlyandico

orlyandico

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5283
  • Joined: 10 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Singapore

Posted 30 December 2012 - 09:26 PM

TItan is eye-poppingly heavy, heavier than a CGE Pro..

If money is not an issue as the OP says, then definitely the best bet would be an AP900GTO on a Rob Miller Tri36M. Chris Go uses this combo (AP900GTO + C14) on a permanent pier for all his Jupiter imaging.

#23 wz2

wz2

    Most Boring Astronomer...

  • -----
  • Posts: 267
  • Joined: 30 Jul 2010

Posted 30 December 2012 - 10:36 PM

Some AP900's are starting to come up on Astromart, too, at fair prices. Yes, could be a good alternative.

Chris

#24 orlyandico

orlyandico

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5283
  • Joined: 10 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Singapore

Posted 30 December 2012 - 11:24 PM

or a new PMX. about the same price as a used AP900. but needing a PC all the time is a drag..

#25 andysea

andysea

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1442
  • Joined: 03 Sep 2010
  • Loc: Seattle, WA

Posted 31 December 2012 - 09:24 AM

I would get the AP900. It's been around for a long time and it's a proven performer.






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics