• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Rob55

Rob55

Sputnik

• -----
  • Loc: Fort Polk, LA USA

Posted 28 December 2012 - 12:06 AM

BLUF: I want a simple easy look at visible planets and brighter space objects for around $500.

Happy New Year. I'm a novice and the more I read the more I'm thinking about an 80 mm st on a solid altaz as my first scope. It will be portable and I can use it for terrestrial viewing too. Orion has the plain OTA for $119 and kit with ring mounts, diagonal and eyepieces for $50 more. I'm thinking of going with the kit because the cost of mount and rings make the eyepieces and diagonal a gift. With that I'll have some change to spend on a good mount. Are there eyepieces or diagonals out there that will significantly improve Performance. I've read reviews that say so, but they neglect to say what eyepieces. My thinking is this is a scope I will use and it leaves me room for a 8" dob in the future without too much duplication if the bug really bites. I'm thinking Universal Astronomics micro or uni, or vixen porta for a mount. I'll be looking at planets, the moon and bright stars and objects with my wife in the back yard for a while. Hoping I can find most of it with a low power ep without finder scope. I want the scope to stay put after locating an object so my wife can have a reliable look or I can swap an ep. We will probably attempt to find some dark sky out of the neighborhood on some nights. Then we will see where the interest goes.

Probably all new at this point as I have no confidence in my ability to cobble up a functional kit from used without much trial and error. I know I will dabble for improvement, but I want to be looking through a scope soon.

Oh, yes, are wooden legs that much better than metal? Does anyone here attach scope mounts to engineer tripods? what are the pitfalls there?

I'm still considering a vixen 80mf with porta II mount, but find the idea of a ST with wide angle attractive.

Thanks Rob :crazy: