Nextar 8, lat / long question, auto align question

• Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 thyslip

thyslip

Lift Off

• -----

Posted 29 December 2012 - 09:49 PM

Just upgraded to a "used" Nexstar 8 from a friend. I have a couple questions about auto align.

1. When I enter the lat / long (I'm at 35N, 78W) do I enter the (-) for the long 78W? Or since I have enter W or E, do I leave it positive?

2. The manual says to point scope north horizon to start auto align, does the angle matter very much?

3. I'm not very good with the star pointer, any advice?

thanks for the help, can't wait to try this out, been using a Celestron Astromaster 114 EQ for a couple years and have enjoyed it. This was a steal at $350 with tripod, so decided to upgrade.

Happy New Year,
Tom

#2 Dave Ponder

Dave Ponder

Vostok 1

• Loc: Greenville, SC

Posted 29 December 2012 - 11:08 PM

Tom, let me ask you about question 3 first...what are you having trouble with specifically?

#3 Tel

Tel

Cosmos

• Loc: Wallingford England

Posted 30 December 2012 - 05:13 AM

Hi Tom,

A very warm welcome to CN and to this forum ! :bow::bow:

As Dave says, we need to know what specific issue(s) you have with the star finder, (red dot finder), before definitive advice can be given, but as far as your other two questions are concerned I'll attempt to answer them.

Before starting though, I would recommend that you acquire a copy, (if it's still in print) of Michael W Swanson's 2004/2005 book, entitled "The Nexstar User's Guide" published by Springer Verlag London Ltd. and that you also visit Mike's excellently informative Nexstar website if you haven't already done so.

www.nexstarsite.com/

Also, you may have already come across this CN review of the Nexstar 8 but which if not, might be of some interest to you.

http://www.cloudynig...hp?item_id=1527

But to your questions:

1) What better than if I quote from Mike's book on entering Latitude and Longitude co-ordinates for the Nexstar 8.