63 replies to this topic

#1 Rob55

Rob55

Sputnik

• -----
  • Loc: Fort Polk, LA USA

Posted 04 January 2013 - 11:23 PM

41600JAN13 44F, 25mm ep,
The telescope was in the foyer when I got home, two really big boxes. It took me a few minutes to get it together. I think the manual was excellent. The scope balanced easily with just the 7lb counter weight. I have no experience with stuff like this, but the mount seems extraordinarily substantial and smooth as silk. I set it up so it so with the eyepiece and diagonal at half focus it balances with the rear bolt head against the dovetail mount. This allows me to remove and replace the scope without having to re balance. The EQ setup was not intuitive as I assume the ALTAZ would be, but fooling around with it in the light of the living room I got use to it. When releasing the rings and taking the paper off I recommend loosing the bolts holding the rings to the dovetail mount. My rings were a little out of line. I was afraid tightening them would deform the tube. With the rings loosened on the mount I tightened the ring thumb screws on the tube snugly and then re tightened the bolts attaching the ring to the mount. I got moved outside by 1700. Polaris is hidden by the pines north of my house in Louisiana. I set the North side to north and the latitude to 31. There is a 7 story building with a light on top of it about a half mile from the house. I used it to line up the finder scope. The sky was 100% overcast. I set the scope to the South East in anticipation of Jupiter and waited for the sun to go down. At 1830 the South East was totally clouded over. Just to the North Capella, Castor and Pollux were stacked. I switched to Capella, my first light. As I brought the star into focus three meteors in formation crossed the lens from right to left or was it from right to left inverted, reversed? It was 1837. That was worth the price of admission. I’m hooked. I got a few glimpses of Jupiter and Betelgeuse through the clouds and