• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Tom Baer

Tom Baer

Lift Off

• -----
  • Loc: Seattle, WA

Posted 05 January 2013 - 09:48 PM

This one might belong in the Eyepiece forum, but I am a beginner so I'll put it here. I have always been an astronomy buff (had a Jason 60mm refractor as a kid), and for Christmas I bought a 4.5 inch Starblast altazimuth (450mm focal length) to introduce my 10 year-old daughter to the planets and Messier objects. I am very pleased and impressed with this telescope, especially for the low price.

It came with two plossls (6 mm and 17 mm), and I got a Shorty 2x Barlow. I also got a 6mm Orion Expanse eyepiece with is for me is an improvement over the 6mm the scope came with, even though the original 6mm isn't bad at all.

At 150x with the 6mm Expanse and the Shorty Barlow, bright objects like Jupiter and the moon look plenty sharp and bright, so for me that is definitely not pushing this scope too far. The Orion nebula and Andromeda galaxy look like dim greyish smudges at 150x, but I think those objects are better viewed a lower power away from light pollution anyway. (I am in Seattle, not easy to see many stars)

I am wondering how close I can get to the theoretical max magnification of 228x of the moon and planets before the images get too dark and smudgy, and also wondering the best way to do it cheaply.

So, my question is... what would give me the best chance of a decent high-power image with this scope in good seeing: A Burgess TMB 4mm + the 2x Shorty, or the 6mm Orion Expanse + a moderately priced 3x Barlow? Is it a tossup, or will one definitely be better than the other?

#2 Gary Riley

Gary Riley

Mariner 2

• -----
  • Loc: White Bluff, TN

Posted 05 January 2013 - 10:11 PM