• Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 TheMadHatter

TheMadHatter

Sputnik

• -----
  • Loc: eastern iowa, USA

Posted 05 January 2013 - 09:54 PM

So, first and foremost this is my first post here,so im a newb. I already feel at home reading through the post, and exploring the other perks of the website(classified ads and the discount for being a member!).

Well Ive been thinking for a long time now that id like to get a refractor type telescope. One reason for this is i already own a 130 orion space probe on an eq-2 mount. Its a really nice scope and last night i took it out and saw m42,m43, m78, m35,36,37, and m38, all crystal clear and with just amazing clarity over the entire fov, i also took a look at jupiter and was able to see the cloud bands and 5 of the bigger moons in the fov. I did clean the optics and re-collimated it not to long ago so im sure this helps.

The main reason id like a refractor is, 1) im not getting the detail with galaxies and close views with planets as id like anymore. and 2) most importantly its gotten to be a pain to lug that huge case around with me and maneuver through door ways and up the stairs and so on. 3) I'd also like to travel with it overseas when i visit family.

So I've been thinking getting a 70-80mm refractor i don't really want to break the bank getting one of those televue's or tashka's(maybe further down the road) i was looking at the astro tech 72mm ed f/6, or the orion 80st. a few others came up to but I'm pretty much narrowed it down to these to and leaning more towards the astro-tech, but have heard the orion has better optics in it.

Ill break it down for ya, tell you what i have and what i plan to acquire in my arsenal of equipment.
As of now i have
-- Orion space probe 130
-- An EQ-2 mount and tripod-will a refractor telescope work on this mount?
-- A set of the Orion 1.25” eyepieces, planetary filters, and 2x barlow in a hard carrying case.
-- sky safari pro, and skygazer 4, on Macbook pro