Jump to content


Photo

Uploading to the members gallery?

  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 TheMadHatter

TheMadHatter

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: 04 Jan 2013
  • Loc: eastern iowa, USA

Posted 07 January 2013 - 11:07 PM

how do i upload to the members gallery? and does it have to be 200kb?

#2 Tel

Tel

    Cosmos

  • *****
  • Posts: 9125
  • Joined: 31 Mar 2006
  • Loc: Wallingford England

Posted 08 January 2013 - 06:23 AM

Hi Aaron,

Welcome to CN ! :bow::bow:

Is there a problem or are you just saying you don't know where to find the "Members' Gallery" ?

If it's merely the latter, go back into the Main Index and scroll down until you're almost at the bottom. There you will see the "Members' Gallery". Just click on the title and you'll see a number of sub-headings, one of which says "Upload Photos".

From there on, it's all pretty well self-explanatory.

Hoping this helps,
Best regards,
Tel

#3 TheMadHatter

TheMadHatter

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: 04 Jan 2013
  • Loc: eastern iowa, USA

Posted 08 January 2013 - 11:36 AM

i am able to find the section to upload to, but i am only allowed to upload a 200kb photo, which doesnt help me to much. I thought the members gallery was the place where i could upload a bigger sized image? and if not where do i upload them to?

does there need to be certain criteria to meet before uploading a image bigger than 200kb?

#4 jerwin

jerwin

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 955
  • Joined: 16 May 2012
  • Loc: Romeoville IL

Posted 08 January 2013 - 12:16 PM

At the bottom of the forum tab there is a link to the members gallery.

http://www.cloudynig...ery.php?cat=500

At the top right of the member gallery is a link to upload photo's. It looks like it has a limit of 10,000kb per user. It also looks like that can be one 10mb file 10,000 1kb files or anywhere in between.

I've see a lot of people use www.astrobin.com to post their stuff too. Not sure what limitations it has.

Jim

#5 rigel123

rigel123

    Voyager 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 11166
  • Joined: 29 Jun 2009
  • Loc: SW Ohio

Posted 09 January 2013 - 12:08 AM

www.astrobin.com has no limits on size and then you can post a link to your image here on CN

#6 TheMadHatter

TheMadHatter

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: 04 Jan 2013
  • Loc: eastern iowa, USA

Posted 09 January 2013 - 12:56 AM

ill have to mess about with this more, this is what it tell me when i try to upload a picture of the moon i took thats 295kb--->Your file exceeded our limit of kb. Please go back and try again. 200kb.

it also says under the photo upload,---->Photo to upload:
0k file size limit

so this means im not allowed to upload until a certain point or time frame here at CN?

#7 jerwin

jerwin

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 955
  • Joined: 16 May 2012
  • Loc: Romeoville IL

Posted 09 January 2013 - 01:57 AM

I just tried to upload a large file and it gave me the 200kb message too. I'd probably look at astrobin or try to compress your file more.

Jim

#8 TheMadHatter

TheMadHatter

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: 04 Jan 2013
  • Loc: eastern iowa, USA

Posted 10 January 2013 - 02:04 AM

thanks,so its not just me.
this post is miss leading http://www.cloudynig...309692/page/...

After i read this i tried it but it didnt work, maybe their working on it?

#9 beatlejuice

beatlejuice

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1638
  • Joined: 05 Apr 2011
  • Loc: Hamilton, ON,Canada

Posted 10 January 2013 - 02:29 AM

You need a picture re-sizer. I have one from microsoft power toys for winxp it was free and works great. I dont know about other operating systems.

Eric

#10 CJK

CJK

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 555
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2012
  • Loc: Northeast TN

Posted 10 January 2013 - 02:39 AM

There's a good online image editor at pixlr.com -- and it's free. I've used it quite often at work, where I don't have access to Photoshop, etc.

-- Chris

#11 TheMadHatter

TheMadHatter

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: 04 Jan 2013
  • Loc: eastern iowa, USA

Posted 10 January 2013 - 08:19 PM

i have a macbook pro, ill try astrobin and pixir.

#12 TheMadHatter

TheMadHatter

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: 04 Jan 2013
  • Loc: eastern iowa, USA

Posted 11 January 2013 - 02:22 AM

Thanks, i resolved the issue. I found an image re-sizer for Macbooks called imagewell, very good, simple to use program, thats free.






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics