• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 anemec

anemec

Mariner 2

• -----
  • Loc: Oklahoma

Posted 08 January 2013 - 09:00 PM

I have been imaging with a DSLR for a couple of years but am completely new to solar system imaging and processing with a webcam/from video.

After much research I decided to purchase the ASI120MC which I received today.

So, now I have installed the drivers, FireCapture and SharpCap, and the real questions start -
What do most people use for capture with these cameras, FireCapture?
What are the typical settings for say capturing Jupiter with the camera? What are the most important settings to consider?
Does everyone use Registax? Or something else?

I use both PS and PixInsight for processing on the DSLR side. Any tips for processing things like solar system bodies which are so much brighter than galaxies or nebulae?

What am I missing? I am sure I am missing plenty.

I will be using my 8" LX200 for imaging. Which I guess brings up a good question. I assume I don't really need to worry too much about super accurate alignment while doing this do I? I typically drift align, or iterative align every night I'm imaging with my dslr.

Any other tips, tricks or dire warnings from you guys will be much appreciated.

#2 anemec

anemec

Mariner 2

• -----

Posted 08 January 2013 - 09:17 PM

Forgot to mention that I capture on a PC, but process on a Mac. So if there is a Mac alternative to Registax (or a Mac version I am unaware of) that would be great. I know I can run parallels, but would love to not have to.

#3 wenjha

wenjha

Vendor

• -----
  • Vendors
  • Loc: SuZhou China

Posted 08 January 2013 - 10:36 PM

Sharpcap can works well with the color model.Firecapture need more computer resource to runs well but more powerful.
my setting for jupiter: exposure 20-25ms gain 50-70 choose a suitable resolution like 420X320 or 512X400 you can get 40-50fps capture speed.
capture 3mins you will get around 6000-7000 frames.