Jump to content


Photo

Celestron VX mount

  • Please log in to reply
1053 replies to this topic

#551 peetyg

peetyg

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 91
  • Joined: 28 Aug 2011
  • Loc: outside chicago

Posted 10 March 2013 - 12:06 PM

love to know what parts you used to modify

thanks

Peety

#552 mclewis1

mclewis1

    Thread Killer

  • ****-
  • Posts: 10880
  • Joined: 25 Feb 2006
  • Loc: New Brunswick, Canada

Posted 10 March 2013 - 12:07 PM

Lots of threads on CN over the past few years about doing this in the Equipment and Imaging forums.

You have two general options ...
a) home made with a pvc fitting (you press fit the camera with a 1.25" nose piece into this adapter)
b) KWIQ adapter from KW Telescope or other similar ~2" to T thread adapter (no 1.25" nose piece required).

#553 bilgebay

bilgebay

    Skylab

  • *****
  • Moderators
  • Posts: 4192
  • Joined: 06 Nov 2008
  • Loc: Turkiye - Istanbul and Marmaris

Posted 10 March 2013 - 12:24 PM

Nope, I've just made an adaptor to accomodate the 1.25'' nosepiece of the camera. NExt time I build one I will make it a threaded connection though.

#554 GTBaker

GTBaker

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 38
  • Joined: 01 Feb 2013

Posted 10 March 2013 - 01:00 PM

You should make one now. :lol:

#555 Stew57

Stew57

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Posts: 2537
  • Joined: 03 May 2009
  • Loc: Silsbee Texas

Posted 10 March 2013 - 01:24 PM

I used a 2"-1.25" eyepiece adapter. It has has to be sanded just a bit to fit snug inside the finder tube. I cut my tube off a bit to accomidate a meade dsi pro with the stock nose piece, but with a camera with less backfocus you probably wouldn't have to. They will still function as a finder with an eyepiece so I did it to all my finders. If you are using it as a guidescope only you could just swap it to each scope as alignment is not critical then.

Pics
http://s906.beta.pho...w57/library/...

The 2"-1.25" adapter I used has t-threads on the end so you can either or it.

http://www.telescope...inchto125inc...

#556 bilgebay

bilgebay

    Skylab

  • *****
  • Moderators
  • Posts: 4192
  • Joined: 06 Nov 2008
  • Loc: Turkiye - Istanbul and Marmaris

Posted 10 March 2013 - 01:32 PM

You should make one now. :lol:


Actually, I will :) My C11 is sold and I have to do the same for my new C8 Edge. The bad news is I will collect my C8 at NEAF.

#557 DuncanM

DuncanM

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 85
  • Joined: 03 Nov 2009

Posted 11 March 2013 - 10:03 AM

That image was 5 minute subs and ISO 800. I rarely use ISO 1600. I have major problems with noise even with it having an installed heat reduction system so I keep it low and long but lately it has been windy so I am trying a mixture of things as some experiments. I am finding holes in my data after I do further noise reduction in early post processing leaving me to believe theres still quite a bit of noise and I need to bone up on my processing skills because I KNOW the data is there... im just a noob at getting it out but this image below.. I took more care and time.. let me know if you guys think its better and what I can do to make it better. I was told by a friend that the processing looks harsh. Thanks :) [image]http://www.astrobin.com/35088/[/image]


I think you will find that you will get dramatically better results at ISO100 or ISO200. The Nikon D5100 uses the same sensor as the D7000:
http://www.sensorgen...NikonD7000.html
and if you use it above ISO200 you no longer have enough fullwell capacity to utilize the 14bit raw files. Using ISO100 or 200 will not result in any loss of sensitivity as that is independent of the ISO setting.

#558 silicon

silicon

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: 12 Nov 2006
  • Loc: Tokyo, Japan

Posted 16 March 2013 - 11:56 AM

I've never used a computerized mount before, but the VX seems interesting. In a pinch, can the 2 + 4 + ASPA be performed only with stars in, for instance, the southern sky? (e.g. in a balcony situation, where only stars to the south of one's location are visible)

#559 cn register 5

cn register 5

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 760
  • Joined: 26 Dec 2012

Posted 16 March 2013 - 12:57 PM

Yes, no problem. My location isn't a balcony but it's a few feet from the house. I can just see to the zenith but not to the North or low to the East or West. Once you get to the point where it's asking for stars use the Up/Down buttons to go through the list to find one that's visible. A planisphere helps with this.

Chris

#560 Whichwayisnorth

Whichwayisnorth

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1447
  • Joined: 04 Jul 2011
  • Loc: Southern California

Posted 16 March 2013 - 01:03 PM

FYI

The other night I did 2 star with 4 calibration. Then I used the all star polar align routine. Finally I used the PEC tool, separate download, and did a batch training with 5 runs.

Lastly, using Backyard EOS, I checked the drift alignment. After centering the star in the cross hairs I walked away intending to come back in about 5 minutes. Turns out the show I was watching took more of my attention than I expected. 1014 seconds later I was back to check on it and darnit if the star wasn't smack dab in the middle still.

Full disclosure: This was with a 80mm F/6 refractor with a reducer bringing it down to 380mm. I was still very impressed.

#561 bilgebay

bilgebay

    Skylab

  • *****
  • Moderators
  • Posts: 4192
  • Joined: 06 Nov 2008
  • Loc: Turkiye - Istanbul and Marmaris

Posted 16 March 2013 - 04:20 PM

Wow!

#562 Whichwayisnorth

Whichwayisnorth

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1447
  • Joined: 04 Jul 2011
  • Loc: Southern California

Posted 16 March 2013 - 07:46 PM

After all the nice things I've been saying about my AVX the hand controller dies on me. :(

#563 GTBaker

GTBaker

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 38
  • Joined: 01 Feb 2013

Posted 17 March 2013 - 12:51 PM

What happened?

#564 Whichwayisnorth

Whichwayisnorth

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1447
  • Joined: 04 Jul 2011
  • Loc: Southern California

Posted 17 March 2013 - 01:00 PM

What happened?


Not sure. Probably a voltage spike but I don't know if that could happen while it is plugged into a surge protector.

Instead of flipping the switch to power off my wife unplugged (upon my request) the power cord from the wall.

So now the HC will not power on at all. However I do own the SkyQ adapter and my iPad can connect just fine and control the mount. So I know the problem is in the HC. I took the 6 screws out of the back and checked to make sure the cable was properly seated. That is about the only thing I can try myself. I submitted a request for service from Celestron. Waiting to hear back.

#565 bilgebay

bilgebay

    Skylab

  • *****
  • Moderators
  • Posts: 4192
  • Joined: 06 Nov 2008
  • Loc: Turkiye - Istanbul and Marmaris

Posted 17 March 2013 - 03:09 PM

Sorry to hear about this :(

#566 GTBaker

GTBaker

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 38
  • Joined: 01 Feb 2013

Posted 17 March 2013 - 04:16 PM

Wow I hope this is not a frequent occurrence. Hope Celestron sorts it out for you.

#567 Whichwayisnorth

Whichwayisnorth

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1447
  • Joined: 04 Jul 2011
  • Loc: Southern California

Posted 18 March 2013 - 02:38 PM

Called today. Spoke to a gentleman who was very helpful. We also discussed an issue I was having with the SkyQ link. He is sending me out a new hand controller and I am to put the dead one back in the box to send back. Since I am local I should have it tomorrow. Bad weather anyways so no hurry.

In case anyone is interested, the SkyQ doesn't currently work on the ADVx. There was firmware update that broke it. (mount firmware). Engineers are being made aware of the issue. Hopefully there will be a patch soon.

#568 Carl N

Carl N

    Mariner 2

  • *****
  • Posts: 259
  • Joined: 18 Mar 2012
  • Loc: San Diego, CA

Posted 18 March 2013 - 06:38 PM

Where can I find more on the sky Q and AVX incompatibility? I have the dongle and I had problems with it on my AVX. Would like to know if it was this issue, and when it will be fixed.

#569 Whichwayisnorth

Whichwayisnorth

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1447
  • Joined: 04 Jul 2011
  • Loc: Southern California

Posted 18 March 2013 - 10:03 PM

There isn't any more info on it. What we (the CS rep and I) found out was that it reads the mount as an Alt/az mount not a GEM. Thus you can't align it properly. He verified that it works fine on a CGEM and it works fine on a CG5ASGT. A recent firmware update on the AVX must have changed something. I don't think anyone knew before I brought it up . He opened a ticket and forwarded it to their guy. I don't know more than that. No eta on a fix. We need a Celestron version of Andrew to take a look at the code and tell us what it says. :)

#570 esthel

esthel

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: 21 Jun 2012

Posted 19 March 2013 - 05:29 AM

Will SkySafari work with AVX mount?

#571 Carl N

Carl N

    Mariner 2

  • *****
  • Posts: 259
  • Joined: 18 Mar 2012
  • Loc: San Diego, CA

Posted 19 March 2013 - 09:47 AM

That makes total sense Which Way. I was convinced my iPad was in alt az mode and never went back to sort it out. Thanks for pushing through it and I hope they fix it soon.

#572 Whichwayisnorth

Whichwayisnorth

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1447
  • Joined: 04 Jul 2011
  • Loc: Southern California

Posted 19 March 2013 - 10:44 AM

Will SkySafari work with AVX mount?


I also own the skyfi adapter and sky safari but I need to wait on a new hand controller to test it. Hopefully today or tomorrow.

#573 beammeup

beammeup

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 36
  • Joined: 22 Dec 2008
  • Loc: Straight of Gibraltar

Posted 19 March 2013 - 12:01 PM

Apparently it does work, according to this post, but Celestron might have changed or updated the firmware since...

Vx with skyfi southern stars forum

I am also awaiting delivery of a vx mount + edge hd telescope, will test skyfi tomorrow or the day after, it's in the hands of UPS. :fingerscrossed:

#574 rmollise

rmollise

    Hubble

  • *****
  • Posts: 15558
  • Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Posted 19 March 2013 - 12:04 PM

For it not to work, they'd have to have screwed up the serial port. Not likely.

#575 Carl N

Carl N

    Mariner 2

  • *****
  • Posts: 259
  • Joined: 18 Mar 2012
  • Loc: San Diego, CA

Posted 20 March 2013 - 03:52 PM

It's not that it doesn't work, well kinda, but the iPad/skyQ/link wi-fi adapter thinks the mounting method is alt/az and there is no "switch" the user can change that variable.
So when you try to go to an object the scope slews all over the place.






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics