• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 rimcrazy

rimcrazy

Mariner 2

• -----
  • Loc: Overgaard, AZ

Posted 11 January 2013 - 09:56 AM

I'm setting up a remote controlled observatory and I've got a quick question on setting up my main 12V DC Supply. One school of thought is to simply use all of the wall bricks and hook them up to either an IP controlled AC outlet ( Data Loggers IP AC Switch ) or something like the remote controlled outlet you can slave to a RoboFocus. ( HomeDome Remote AC Outlet )

Another way is to simply get a fairly robust 12V DC Supply ( 150W 12V DC Power Supply ) and use something like a simply Arduino board ( Arduino Boards ) and program it up with a relay board to switch separate 12V connections to the respective accessories.

I've been an electrical engineer for 30+ years so programming up an Arduino for me is a relatively simple task. That being said, I've never been one to reinvent the wheel if a reasonable solution already exists.

My thinking is using a 12V supply with the Arduino is probably both the most robust and most programmable. While my AC supply is through a heavy duty Tripp Lite UPS that regenerates a perfect sine wave, the regulation on a dedicated DC supply like I showed is far better than your average brick, which is many cases is not much more than a diode bridge with a cap. That being said, I lack real time experience in this application so I am quite interested in solutions and problems others have overcome and solved.

Thanks much!

#2 stmguy

stmguy

Ranger 4

• Loc: Western NH

Posted 11 January 2013 - 10:16 AM