First outreach opportunity on the 19th.

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Escher

Escher

Apollo

• Loc: Fenton, MI

Posted 11 January 2013 - 02:51 PM

I've been asked to come to the "family fun night" at church and bring my CPC1100.

I'm planning on it as long as the weather is good.

I was also planning on bringing my ETX125 on CG5..

My thoughts are to bring a full setup with my observing table, chairs, etc... Then I will man the CPC full time and allow the adults and heavily supervised kids to use the big scope.

The ETX125 I can setup to let folks do a little searching on their own - its a manual CG5. And I can let them search a bit as they wish.

I also plan to have at least one helper to make sure people arent using the scopes without supervision.

What else should I be planning for? I have never done anything like this before.

Should I bring my macbook and run the CPC remotely from stellarium instead of using the handset?, thereby eliminating one source of issues (buttom mashing by kids)... then again - do I really want my new macbook outside in downtown Flint...

Suggestions appreciated!!!

#2 Skylook123

Skylook123

Cosmos

• Loc: Tucson, AZ

Posted 11 January 2013 - 03:20 PM

IMHO, two scopes and one experienced operator is one scope too many. It means two separate audiences to service. Of course, that depends on the level of expertise and comfort with a crowd of the helper. As far as a visitor doing some searching on their own, nice concept but it boils down to introducing as much confusion as discovery if more than a couple of visitors are involved. It might be a group of people, but in the end it becomes each contact being one on one, and fragmenting attention can be hectic.