• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 MadMan

MadMan

Ranger 4

• -----
  • Loc: Canton, GA, USA

Posted 12 January 2013 - 09:31 PM

I am new to binocular viewing. Recently, I bought a binoviewer for my telescopes and after looking through my new WO binos and the C11, I bought a Unimount Light (12# capacity I guess) and am in the market for a good set of binos. I have been actively imaging for a couple of years and rarely look through my equipment, so I was pleased to see that even from suburban Atlanta, it was enjoyable.

I first thought about (and still am) a set of Nikon Action Extreme 12x50's and then started looking at the Fujinon FMT-SX 10x70's and 16x70's.

I have a pretty narrow IPD at 57.5, which was a big consideration, but also have 'older guy' eyes and wear moderately powered glasses for distance and reading now.

Given the LP in my area and the rarity of getting under dark skies (4 times a year or so), I thought the 16x70 would be a great choice, but the eye relief was quoted at a variety of numbers far less than my other two choices.

Hate sacrificing and was wondering why even with short relief binos an eyeglass wearer can't just push into the cups, focus each eye and pretty much get the same experience without his glasses on as you can get with longer eye relief #'s.

Thoughts on why I can and should still live with the Fujinon 16x70's to justify my strong desire to go in that direction are welcome :) Of course, reasons I shouldn't are as well :(

Thanks,

Mike

#2 Rich V.

Rich V.

Skylab

• Loc: Lake Tahoe area, Nevada, USA

Posted 13 January 2013 - 12:51 AM

Mike, as an owner of 16x70s and a Unimount, I think they're a great combination. The 16x70 provide a telescopic quality view and they are a great size and weight match for the light Unimount.